We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Turtles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punaluu Black Sand Beach

Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in an area with coconut trees and a black sand beach, this park is one of the best in Hawaii.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was a favorite spot of mine as there were 6 turtles sunning themselves on the beach. We saw several turtles in the water and would have been a wonderful place to snorkel had we had equipment. Great place to have a picnic. Not very crowded.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CAAdams53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    639
    311
    80
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really neat experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We went to this beach for a short visit. It was free to park and easy to walk to. There is an area where you can see Sea Turtles sun bathing. From what I understand, there are always turtles there. I also saw turtles in the water.
It was also a very interesting experience being on a black sand beach. It was different than I expected, the sand looked like top soil/ coffee grinds. The black sand isn't super soft and I felt like it was easier to walk in flip flops than barefoot. It was very beautiful so I feel that the trip was worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hulagirl926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Half day visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We visited the main beach that is accessible by car and enjoyed our half day there. The beach wasn't to crowded, even for a Saturday, but there is lots of space for everyone to spread out. While we were there, a group of about 5 turtles were sunning on the sands which was really neat to see. There was one or two hanging out in the water too nearby where we snorkeled.

Snorkeling was surprisingly good, just a bit tough to get in and out of the water due to the rockiness of the shore. Not a huge deal though, no worse than anywhere else we found on Kona. Bring water-shoes if you can!

There was a small coffee and chilled drink vendor beside a t-shirt / souvenir stand. We had a pretty tasty iced coffee while we walked up and down the beach. Didn't see anywhere nearby to get food though, but maybe we missed it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilbert, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Large black sands beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

One of the larger black sands beaches. Good facilities available. We saw a number of swimming turtles around 10:30 am but they would only start to come ashore then turn around.
The following is from a travel guide book named "the Big Island Revealed" that I would recommend any visitor get when starting to plan their visit - many "local spots" honest reviews and good maps/ directions
The best part to enter the ocean at Punalu'u is at the northeastern end of the beach because there are fewer lava rocks at the water's edge. There is also a small boat ramp in this area, next to the ruins of the old pier. Swimmers should keep in mind that there is a strong rip current that runs out the boat channel into the open ocean. So it is best to stay away from the northeastern point of the bay.

Most popular black-sand beach on the Big Island
Great place to see sea turtles swimming in the water and resting on the sand (remember to stay at least 15 feet away from them)
Remote beach, but easily accessible
There is a boat/kayak ramp that's open to the public
People with sensitive feet may want to keep their shoes on because the sand is composed of small fragments of volcanic rock that can hurt to walk on
Taking black sand or rocks from the beach is prohibited
Ocean bottom is rocky
Snorkeling conditions are fair due to low visibility
Beware of strong currents - swim close to shore and stay out of the water when the surf is up

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaMi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to see turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We were here in the early afternoon and saw three turtles. It is common here to see turtles often during the day much like at dawn and dusk. It was a haul from Kona but worth the trip. Stop at south point and the green sand beach on your way.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nickm4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punaluu Black Sand Beach also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punaluu Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing