We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Black Sand Beach!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Punaluu Black Sand Beach

Punaluu Black Sand Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$115.00*
and up
Hawaii Grand Circle Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in an area with coconut trees and a black sand beach, this park is one of the best in Hawaii.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Black Sand Beach!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Don't miss this spot to stop.....it is beautiful!! On the way to the volcano we stopped here for about 45 minutes. Beautiful black sand with a rocky shore and some great photo shots. Behind the beach is a freshwater lake that has beautiful lillies...the contrast is gorgeous. Could have spent an entire day here easily. Was not crowded...very peaceful!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieLee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    311
    80
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
767 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We saw the sign and pulled over to the public parking lot. There was a food truck selling coffee, quilters selling their wares, and a free health clinic of all things. We walked down to the beautiful black sand beach. So pretty with the contrasting sand against the lie sky and water. Gorgeous palm trees. Lots of sunbathers were there and it looks like there was a snack shop, too. Great stop.

Helpful?
3 Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Turtle haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Between the multitude of turtles putting on a show and the beautiful black sandy beach, this is definitely a great place to spend an hour or two. In fact, if you are "adventurish", try a swim with the turtles. The scenery is great too, with the crashing waves and rocky shorelines. It's a park so there are picnic tables and washrooms. Plan ahead and spend some time here before driving up to the Volcano Park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank trag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandan, North Dakota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Turtles, Turtles, Turtles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Oh, and there is black sand too! :)

This was our favorite stop on the Big Island. We went in the morning before it got too busy (and hot). We were really hoping to see a sea turtle and we were not disappointed! Right away we saw a couple sunning on the rocks and the beach. During our visit people were respectful and kept their distance. That was nice to see. We spent some time wading in the water, enjoying the unique black sand, watching the countless turtles feeding in the nearby waves. Just a pleasant morning overall. Before we were going to leave we walked out on some of the black rocks and there was another turtle in a pool feeding with the waves washing over it. We sat down and watched for about 30 minutes. So peaceful.

The black sand was really neat too. We visited a black sand beach on Kauai too, but this was much better. Very beautiful.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AMC8380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
167 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Go early or late in the day and see turtles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We came there twice and saw turtles each time. Black sand! We loved this beach. We did not see any tourists.

Helpful?
Thank Otwoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punaluu Black Sand Beach also viewed

 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Punaluu Black Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing