We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the effort”
Review of Waipi'o Valley

Waipi'o Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.62*
and up
Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic area of waterfalls and thousand foot cliffs.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We took the mule wagon ride which was hokey but way fun. We were picked up at a site before the park and ferried by four wheel drive down into the valley while being regaled with stories about the valley's history. At the bottom we clam bored onto a very attractive wagon pulled by two mules. We crossed two rivers, accompanied by the owner's dogs who clearly felt they needed to show the mules where to go although the mules seemed quite familiar with the terrain. We saw taro fields and learned all about the plants and history. It was so beautiful! A special adventure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gypsygurl1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    173
    29
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is what I came to Hawaii for!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Overall, out of all the areas we saw on the big island and Maui during our Hawaii vacation, this is what I expected Hawaii to be.

The trip down was pretty steep but not bad with our Jeep. There isn't any signage but about 2/3 of the way down, you have to make a sharp right turn in order to actually get to the beach. We missed that and went the other way so we didn't actually get to the beach which I was a little disappointed in. However, it started pouring by the time we got back up to the top so I guess everything happens for a reason.

The views down in the valley were gorgeous. Had we caught it after the rains, I'm sure the waterfalls would have been spectacular,

I think it was definitely worth the time getting there. Just beautiful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank staishnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Waipi'o Valley Van Shuttle excellence”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had been so impressed by the overlook at Waipi'o Valley on a previous trip, we wanted to see it up close and personal this time.

There was a complaint on one of the reviews here about a 4 wheeler not being welcomed by the ranger, as they descended into the valley. The valley is not terribly large, and there are 60 to 75 folks who still live there. It is sacred ground, and in respect to the population and traditions of the Valley, I suggest a guided tour or hiking down. The road is incredibly steep and difficult,
even for experienced drivers; and they will eventually have to limit access if everyone decides they want to drive it themselves.

Also, there is matter of respect for the folks that live there, who use the narrow roads and rivers
to access their farms and houses. There are parts here of an older Hawaii that can still be viewed and appreciated, as long as respect is showed by its many visitors.

We chose the Van tour departing from Waipi'o Valley Artworks. Douglas was our driver and guide, who grew up in the Valley and still lives close. His narration, love of the country,
and information on the people, plants, tradition and history of the area were priceless. You could could walk or drive down in the valley yourself, but you would miss out on the meaning
and history that makes this magnificent area so unique.

He even picked two rare double blossomed Hibiscus, from one of his uncles acreages, for the wives on our tour.

His commentary made this tour one of the best experiences of this Big Island trip. Want to see more of the Valley than the overlook? Don't drive yourself; take a van tour ( and ask for Douglas)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank rcftommay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really a special place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are a ton of good accurate reviews here that I won't duplicate. However I just want to add a few points. Don't underestimate the road - whether you are walking or driving. It is steep and narrow. A challenging hike either up or down. If you are driving you need 4x4 LOW for breaking safety.
The road down is owned by the County of Hawaii, but once you reach the valley floor all the roads are on private land. Access is allowed and you will easily see the main traveled areas. The beach has public access although no camping. When exploring back into the valley and you get to places that say "Private" or "No Trespassing" it's time to turn around and respect the private landholdings.
Do some research on the history of the valley before you go and then when you visit marvel that in the 1820s over 1200 Hawaiians lived in the valley. Four decades later, that number was cut in half and down to 200 by 1940. While taro has always been a mainstay of the valley, in the early 1900s there was more than twice the acreage in rice! The 1946 Tsunami infused the lands with salt and after the wave on 15-20 people choose to stay in the valley.
Well worth a visit - at least to the overlook. Or take a step back in time as you travel down the steep, narrow road......

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We took the shuttle tour down into the valley. It was interesting but the best views were from the top. If you want to go, definitely take a tour. Even with a 4 wheel drive the road in and out of the valley is very steep, narrow and winding.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Doris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipi'o Valley also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waipi'o Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing