We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but Pololu even better”
Review of Waipi'o Valley

Waipi'o Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$165.62*
and up
Big Island ATV Tour Through Waipio Valley
More Info
$182.29*
and up
Big Island Waterfall Tour from Kona: Waipio Valley, Hamakua Coast and Akaka...
More Info
$176.04*
and up
Big Island in One Day: Volcanoes, Waterfalls, Sightseeing, and History Small...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A scenic area of waterfalls and thousand foot cliffs.
Olathe, KS
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great view, but Pololu even better”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went to Pololu Valley first and then the following day went to Waipio. A local suggested going to Waipio for an easier journey to the beach, but the view from Pololu was much more stunning than Waipio. Both were worth the view, but if you like to hike, I recommend Pololu Valley. Compared to Waipio, there didn't really appear to be a road of any sort down in Pololu, so Waipio might be the easier route. Neither appeared to have much parking. Both had beautiful views with great rewards at the bottom.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    175
    29
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“it's breathtaking”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The view from lookout point is amazing. It's 4-wheel drive only so we have to park the car near the lookout point. Due to time restriction, we did not go to the bottom of the valley. We walked about 0.3 miles and took some photos. The slope is very steep. Be sure to wear comfortable walking shoes if you plan to explore the valley. The place is owned by private, so no shop is available. Bring enough water :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank qshmilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shoulda went to the valley!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I drove from Kailua Kona via Waimea to Waipi'o Valley...and it was amazing to say the least. We both said that this place is evidence of God just showing off! We toyed with the idea of walking the road down to the Valley but didn't do it...and now regret it. Others who made it back up from the Valley while we were there said it was worth the walk! It will probably be a long time, if ever, if we are able to go back to the Big Island...but if we do, we will make the trek down and enjoy the sights...especially the waterfalls. Don't pay attention to the bad reviews of this place. If you visit the Big Island, make sure to see Waipi'o Valley and pay for the shuttle down if you can't make the walk. Everyone we met from the area were very friendly and it was just an amazing sight.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deidre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, MA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We took the mule-drawn wagon tour ($55 seniors). It lasts an hour and a half. Gives a great perspective after we had seen the valley from the air. Gives a bit of the history of the valley as well. Could have been longer, I think.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank readspeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Don't forget to visit the Lookout.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We explored the valley with Na'alapa Stables (separate review) and decided to visit the lookout after the horseback riding adventure. It took us about 10 minutes drive from Waipio Valley Artworks.

Lo and behold, it was a sight not to be forgotten. No words can describe the amazing vista. Black sand beach, pacific ocean, lush valley, and magnificent waterfalls from afar would enthralled your view.

There is a small parking lot where you can park your vehicle. You can either view the valley from here or descend on a paved trail to the proper lookout station. Bathroom and picnic table are available there.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Coffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipi'o Valley also viewed

Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Island of Hawaii
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Waipi'o Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing