We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second favorite beach”
Review of Mauna Kea Beach

Mauna Kea Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located behind the Mauna Kea Hotel.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Our second favorite beach”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This beach is almost as pretty as Hapuna and it is a lot less crowded. You need to arrive early (try to get there before 9 am) so you can get one of the limited parking spots. Parking is free. There is a short walk from the parking area to the beach. There are bathrooms. There is a bit more shade here than Hapuna. The only problem with sitting under the trees is that the ants and insects like hanging out there too. The water is nice. We had strong waves on the days we visited with sand getting kicked up into the water. A sea turtle swam by and bumped against us. Very cute. Although, staying at the Mauna Lani you get to see lots and lots of them sleeping on the beach.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misanthropicdreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    58
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach.”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We attended the Mauna Kea Luau on a Tuesday and fell in live with the view. We attempted to visit the beach on a Thursday morning but we were turned away at 9:45am as all of the parking spots were taken. We spent the day at Hapuna Beach instead. We tried again on Sunday, and packed a breakfast picnic, arriving at 8am-we were car #10. The beach is lovely, with shady spots, nice bathroom facilities and a short paved walk from the parking lot. The sand is soft, the waves good for boogie boarding, but we didn't see any turtles. A quiet beach for relaxing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank vicandjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful Haiwaiin Beach”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

You can't miss with this beach. Please go there now. Great food and drink at the Mauna Kea resort. It is pricey but you can't beat the views. We had 3 sea turtles swim right past our group multiple times.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Klabens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best beach!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We love this beach! Beautiful white sand beach, great waves for fun boogie boarding, nice hiking on shoreline trail along gorgeous homes. Lovely spot!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonMomoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Hawaii”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Compared to beaches in the Caribbean, Thailand, Lombok, and Boracay; Hawaii's beaches are really only B+ beaches. If you don't get one of the first 30 spaces the hotel will valet your car for free. Then you need to eat something and get the ticket validated. You can eat something sort of reasonable and hangout at the beach all day. Walking north and south is a nice break. There are trees with shade.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Khaton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mauna Kea Beach also viewed

Puako, Kohala Coast
Kohala Coast, Island of Hawaii
 
Waikoloa, Kohala Coast
Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Mauna Kea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing