We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Downtown
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
283 reviews
199 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Below average experience”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

First, the pros: The staff we interacted with were always friendly and tried to help. The free breakfast was OK but a little limited, just coffee, juice, cereal and bread.
The cons: Our non-smoking room had a smell of stale cigarette smoke. The carpet in the room was worn and needed to be vacuumed. The bedside lamp had been removed from the wall on one side of the bed. The free Wi-Fi did not work at any time during our stay. We asked about it and they said that they had called someone but could not identify when or if it would be working.

Room Tip: We had room #108.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specialklc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bholay, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for trying us and for taking the time to let us know your concerns with our hotel. We are working on remodeling all the rooms. We take serious pride in our hotel and strive to satisfy every guest. We apologize for any inconvenience and hope you will try us again to serve your lodging needs when you travel to the Augusta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    15
    10
    10
    32
See reviews for
31
13
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, I had to wait to be checked in they were having a meeting of some kind and the Desk person did not hear the bell when I entered the door. The hair dryer and the electrical outlet for it did not work. There was a bug of some kind on the wall when I woke up in the night, I had to take a shoe to kill it. The breakfast that was offered was not much at all. The toaster did not work, there was an almost empty jug of juice in a fridge. There was cereal, milk, bread, bagels, coffee, packages of oatmeal nothing really to get up out of bed to go to breakfast for. After we left breakfast as we were walking back to our room we saw this man following us so we turned and looked at him and he asked us if we had a quarter, we said no then he turned and walked away, we were glad because we did not know if he had a weapon or not. Other than those things the stay was Okay

Room Tip: If you are on the 1st floor it can be noisy from people walking around on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write feedback about our property. On behalf of my entire staff I would like to apologise for failing to meet your expectations. We will be using this feedback to ensure that all of our guest have a wonderful stay. We hope that next time you are in the area you will give us another try so that we may meet your expectations. Thank you again for you feedback and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got a reasonable deal on a few rooms.. I stayed here with some people from work and we felt the hotel was worth it. A few bugs in the bathroom but I slept fine. We had some noise above but after we called the night auditor it was quickly taken care of!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Econo Lodge. We have already address the issues you have mentioned in your review. We would like to personally thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our hotel. Without your feedback we can not address issues. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel may not be a beauty, but madison made our stay great! He provided awesome customer service and helped us with everything we needed. A 2 star hotel with 5 star service. Thank you Madison!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53carver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that we have met your expectations. The staff here at Econo Lodge thrives to get fives. We will be working on the things that we did not score all fives in. We are here to satify you and make your stay as welcoming as possible. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Never ever will I stay in this motel again. This is the worst place I have ever stayed in my entire life. The bed spread had dried up blood on them and the blanket had hair on it (not mine). The bath tubs are old and crusty like the paint is chipping off it. There was a roach on the wall and the vanity. The washer/dryer is sitting outside and the washer was leaking water and the whole floor and inside of my door was soaking wet. RUN, RUN, RUN. I would not recommend this dump to anyone. It was not even woth the 49.00 that I paid

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 445SylviaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

We are under new management and we hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked this hotel on priceline.com at a low star and didn't expect much. I dealt with the staff over the phone before I arrived and they were curiosity and always called backed. Arrived on Sunday before the practice rounds and Madison checked us in. He gave us directions to where we needed to be and Cayla booked a shuttle for us. Over the years I've stayed at many different hotels but dealing with Cayla and Madison at Econo Lodge was amazing. Place served a great breakfast (bacon and eggs) and was an affordable, convenient and clean stay. We'll be back! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjames00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We are looking forward to you coming to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Never will we ever stay here again, this was the worst nite we had in years ...It started when my husband asked me to let the covers back, then a spider, jumped out, wow, the toilets and room was so worn down, I was so scared at that point we ask for our money back, but we was told we had to wait til in the morning to talk to manger, We told her we was looking for Hoilday Inn and she told us this was it, so when my husband went to complain, she said she could change our room but that was just as worst ...yes, cheap is 57.89 for the nite but i could of got alot better for the price ...the manger said we done spent the nite so nothing can be done, so i would advise anyone that is the worst motel i ever stayed in .Very noisy, all nite long .....May god be with yall ...

Room Tip: Dont use this motel at all, go to a better place ...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donna231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Econo Lodge Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a survey about our property on tripadvisor. We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with your experience. We are currently under new management and our team is working very hard to make Econo Lodge a wonderful property. We will use your review to see where our problem areas are and fix them promptly. I hope that in the future you will give us another chance to satisfy you. We hope to see you again! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
1.7 mi away
Ramada Augusta Downtown Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#7 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Augusta - Washington Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Knights Inn Augusta
Knights Inn Augusta
#48 of 82 in Augusta
2.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
3.9 mi away
West Bank Inn
West Bank Inn
#15 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
7.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Augusta West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Downtown

Property: Econo Lodge Downtown
Address: 1103 15th Street, Augusta, GA 30901-3111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Medical District located conveniently in downtown Augusta, minutes from shopping and local attractions. This Augusta, GA hotel is minutes from Paine College, Georgia Regents University - the state's first medical school (formerly the Medical College of GA), and golf fans will love being minutes from the Augusta National Golf Course, built by Bobby Jones. Additional nearby points of interest include: Augusta-Richmond County Civic Center, William B. Bell Auditorium, Augusta Museum of History, Imperial Theater, President Woodrow Wilson's fully restored home and the Morris Museum of Art. Established in 1736 by General James Edward Oglethorpe and nestled along the banks of the Savannah River, Augusta is the second largest and oldest city in Georgia. The city's nickname -"The Garden City"- was chosen because of the city's many large private gardens. Augusta is 150 miles east of Atlanta, approximately two hours from the beach and mountains. Take time to discover the historic charm of the city with its tree-lined streets and antebellum mansions. Visitors will enjoy recreational activities like golfing, tennis, fishing, boating and more. Take a stroll on the Augusta Riverwalk, offering beautiful views of the Savannah River. Dozens of shops, restaurants and historic attractions are located in the area. Hotel amenities and features include: Complimentary wireless high-speed internet access in all rooms, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary local calls as well as copies of the Augusta Chronicle - the South's oldest newspaper - and coffee all day. This Augusta, GA hotel also offers access to copy and fax services. All guest rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, cable television, HBO and smoking rooms are available upon request. Whether traveling to Georgia for business or pleasure, make the Econo Lodge Downtown your home away from home when visiting the Augusta area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Augusta
Econo Lodge Augusta
Augusta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing