We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere If You Can!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't live up to the description that appears on the Wingate web site. I traveled to Augusta for meetings at nearby Fort Gordon, and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere (there are plenty of options, including another Wingate that I understand is much better!).

Pros:
1. The location is convenient to Fort Gordon and major highways.
2. The wireless internet access seemed reliable and reasonably fast.
3. The free breakfast is not extensive but palatable.

Cons:
1. My room was VERY noisy. I could hear the person in the room next door watching TV almost all night, even when I put a pillow over my head. I considered calling the front desk to complain, but realized how hopeless this would be when I found I could even hear the guy cough. The walls are just that thin...needless to say, I did NOT get a good night's sleep. Also, my colleague, who stayed on a different floor, was kept awake by garbage trucks that came to empty the several dumpsters near the hotel.
2. The rooms are shoddy and poorly maintained. There is an air of dinginess to just about everything. You can feel the springs in the bed, too, although it wasn't too bad.
3. The "fitness center" can only barely qualify as such. The elliptical machine squeaked so loudly that I couldn't stand to use it, the treadmill kept slowing back down after I would speed it up, and the upright bike looks like a wreck. The weight machines do have a minimal degree of function.
4. The rooms have very poor lighting. It's tough to see to put makeup on, etc.
5. The staff at the front desk seemed sullen and disinterested when I checked in.

Bottom line: Stay at the other Wingate or at the Hampton Inn next door!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

As this posting is over 2 years old, please don't let it deter you from staying with us. As the new General Manager, my staff & I have made numerous improvements to the property. A well trained front desk staff that will treat you like family, a new head of housekeeping and maintenance staff. We aren't perfect, but we are clean, friendly and easy on your pocket book!
Give us a try, you can "Count on Us".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2007

Unfortunately, this is the second time I had the misfortune to be subjected to this dump. Dirty, noisy and occasionally "flood prone" (on my first visit, the room got flooded out by an overfiling bathtub above).

The rooms are old and very worn. The "high speed internet" is a joke. I have stayed at other Wingates and they need to get their name off this place pronto.

In addition, the front desk and other personnel don't seem to care at all with plenty of military coming through to keep the place busy in spite of the dust and lousy service.

I did complan to Wingate corporate the first time and ended up getting a very accusatory phone call from the manager of this hell hole. Avoid at all costs - the nearby Hampton is heaven compared to this.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank xmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

First off, the room reservation process was pretty cumbersome. When I called to cancel my reservations, the guy on the phone scolded me because I didn't have my confirmation numbers and made a fuss about how he needed it to look up my reservation. Amazingly enough, he did it without the number. I asked if the confirmation number should have been sent to my email and we found out that it would have been emailed if the woman that set it up hadn't fat-fingered my email address when she created my profile.

I ended up staying here for 2 weeks in a 2 double bed anyway, and it's not too bad; but not great. My toilet doesn't stop running unless I jiggle the handle, the mirror had a lot of spots on it, they don't clean the carpet very well. The bathroom has some stains but overall feels clean enough. The beds are just regular cheap hotel beds. I thought I read on their website that they have special comfortable beds for travellers, but they're not.

First impression in foyer is nice and clean. Breakfast bar with ham, bacon, eggs, breads, pastries, automatic individual cup coffee maker, juice fountain, fruit, yogurt, cheese cubes, waffle maker. Free business center with fax, copies, printer. The gym has an elliptical, treadmill, and half broken weight machine. One washer and dryer for building which is often in use.

Rooms have microwave, dorm-size refrigerator, 4cup coffee pot. wireless/wired internet (sometimes slug-speed), two phones and two phone lines one is cordless and at least the corded one has speakerphone.

The employees have been pretty nice and helpfull. So, overall, okay, but not great.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank JoshuaMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, MD
212
Reviewed March 30, 2006

This hotel was so nasty! I stayed here with several coworkers and we each had a different issue. I had the maid knock on my door while I was sleeping with the Do Not Disturb sign on my door. When I told her to come back in about an hour, she never did. When I called and asked for towels, I was given bath mats. When I complained to management, I received same nasty attitude. Upon returning from my trip, I got a call saying they had messed up my billing. When I called back, receptionist yelled at me.

Rooms were passable, however bathrooms were very dirty. My room had used soap in dish!

Choose another hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

Please don't let this 3 year old review keep you from staying with us. We have made numerous improvements, including a new staff throughout the property. Room cleanliness is A+, staff friendliness A++. Wingate by Wyndham Augusta wants you to feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2005

The hotel appears newer from the outside, but the rooms suggest otherwise. We requested a non smoking room on our on-line booking, but there weren't any available. We were placed on the 3rd floor - the hall reaked of cigarette smoke. Fortunately the smell in the room itself wasn't so pungent, but found it to be in need of a dire deep clean. The chairs were heavily soiled, the air vents and hair dryer vent were caked in dust and dirt, the walls looked tired. The mattress on the bed was thin and the springs could be heard when turning over...pillows didn't have much life left in them either. This property needs a remodel!

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mvjenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2005

I just completed a five night stay at the Wingate Inn on Belair Rd in Augusta, GA. I thought this hotel chain was relatively new, and indeed the hotel looks modern from the outside. When I walked into the room, I was far from impressed with the housekeeping efforts. A beer bottle was hiding behind the curtain, each dresser drawer had some type of trash in it, and there was a long hair adorning the toilet paper roll. The room itself is large, though the walls and furniture have a well lived-in look. There is a good cable TV package available. The continental breakfast is pretty typical. The rooms contain a microwave and refrigerator. If I stay here again would only be attributed to being unable to find anything better at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: January 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank moodyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canvutaz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Augusta West
Holiday Inn Augusta West
#29 of 86 in Augusta
169 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Augusta North
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Fort Gordon
0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Augusta West
5.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Augusta-Washington Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area

Address: 4087 Jimmie Dyess Pkwy, Augusta, GA 30909-9469 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Augusta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 room 4 story interior corridor property, featuring suites, expanded breakfast, business center, internet access, meeting rooms, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. Four miles from Fort Gordon, located within minutes of major companies: ADP, T-Mobile, John Deere & more. Discounts for military, senior citizens, AAA, AARP, groups and corporate rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Augusta Hotel Augusta
Wingate Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing