We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for visit with Army son”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed January 6, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel ever since they went above and beyond the call of duty in helping me do my army son's laundry! I was actually staying at the Hampton Inn next door when I asked where the nearest laundromat was. They said, "Use our sister property's coin-operated facilities next door at the Wingate." When I went next door to the Wingate, someone else was already using the only washer/dryer. However, the hotel's laundry facilities are right next door and a wonderful woman who worked there took my son's laundry and cleaned it for me! Talk about unforgetable service! Since then, I have stayed here at least 3 or 4 more times with another 2 visits ahead of me until my son "graduates." I have been booked on all floors except the 2nd floor.....and yes, some rooms could use some cosmetic work but, for the price, I have absolutely no complaints. As for the staff, they are nothing but the best ever. Always friendly, always ready to please. If you want fancier, pay more and get a suite at the Hampton next door. For me, I'm wild about the Wingate.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethieMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2010

Thank you so much for your response! I am thrilled that my staff went above and beyond the call of duty and service for you while you were here and that you have chosen us to be your Augusta Hotel!!
Thank you!
Melissa Mullis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 342 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Clean rooms, pleasant staff. A/C in our room was broken, but they were fully booked so we couldn't switch rooms. Instead they brought us a fan and comped us for the first night. The drive into downtown is easy enough - just about 15 minutes via interstate or surface streets. It would have been nice for the purpose of our trip to have been downtown instead, but we saved big $$ by staying at the Wingate! There is a whirlpool, but it was out of order when we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crr615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Thank you for your response. I apologize about our whirlpool being out of order. The heating elements have gone bad and are on order! Hope to see you on your next visit to Augusta.
Melissa Mullis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2009

We found this hotel by chance using our GPS. We called from the road and were quite surprised by the price for a double room. They must have hired new housekeepers since the poor review. I found the room and bathroom to be very clean including the carpet. We asked for a non-smoking room and upon entering it smelled fresh. The beds were comfy and the room had plenty of outlets. Large work desk and luggage rack. Microwave, pod coffee/teamaker and frig included in our room. The towels were even a little larger than I expected for a hotel at this price. And for the USA Today lovers...it's delivered to your door in the morning. Wireless internet was fast. Continental breakfast included the extras like a waffle maker, eggs and sausage. The only problem we had was when we would change the TV channel sometimes it made a really loud scratching sound which is probably what a previous reviewer heard through the walls. That definitely needs to be fixed. Other than that we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joykeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Thank you for your response. I am the new General Manager for the Wingate by Wyndham and have been working diligently to address the past issues in the responses. We are on the right track! New TV's are on order, as well as bedding and mattress'.

Melissa Mullis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2008

The staff was very helpful and kind; however, after switching from two different rooms, and needing to switch to another, we moved to another hotel. Both of the first rooms we tried to stay in had hair in the bathrooms. The air wasn't working in the first room, and when the front desk offered to moved us to another room down the hall, that room was smaller than the one we originally booked. Then we moved upstairs, the second room had extensive (nasty looking!) stains on the pull-out bed, hair in the bathroom, and the carpet needed desperately to be cleaned. The staff tried to work with us, and offered another room, up another floor; however, due to fear the housekeeping had messed up that room as well, and this being 10pm, after a long day with 2 small children, we opted to get a full refund and move to the Doubletree Hotel (very nice and we had stayed there before!) We are not nick-picky, and the staff was very kind, and we appreciated this. The housekeepers just need a new job!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mgriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2009

Hi, thanks for your response. I am the new General Manager and there have been major changes since your stay with us. A new housekeeping manager, and re-training of alll staff.
Stay with us again, you won't be disappointed.

Melissa Mullis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Just returned from a trip to Augusta and had a great stay at this Wingate Inn. First off, let me start by saying we had an executive suite. It was almost the same price as other sub-par dumpy places in the area. The suite was HUGE! Two sleeper sofas, dining room table with four chairs, a king bed, two tvs, jacuzzi tub in HUGE bathroom. I'm telling you, you could LIVE in that room for a long time! Fridge/freezer, microwave, gourmet coffee, and a nice breakfast. You cannot go wrong with this nice property despite the crappy reviews someone left here. Check it out, you will be happy you did! (Oh, and they have a bug indoor jacuzzi and an outdoor pool) You can also walk next door to their sister property and use their indoor pool. Nice bonus!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jstenulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

Stayed one night. The room and property were clean. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast on-site was decent, but the are several other options in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agrant45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't live up to the description that appears on the Wingate web site. I traveled to Augusta for meetings at nearby Fort Gordon, and I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere (there are plenty of options, including another Wingate that I understand is much better!).

Pros:
1. The location is convenient to Fort Gordon and major highways.
2. The wireless internet access seemed reliable and reasonably fast.
3. The free breakfast is not extensive but palatable.

Cons:
1. My room was VERY noisy. I could hear the person in the room next door watching TV almost all night, even when I put a pillow over my head. I considered calling the front desk to complain, but realized how hopeless this would be when I found I could even hear the guy cough. The walls are just that thin...needless to say, I did NOT get a good night's sleep. Also, my colleague, who stayed on a different floor, was kept awake by garbage trucks that came to empty the several dumpsters near the hotel.
2. The rooms are shoddy and poorly maintained. There is an air of dinginess to just about everything. You can feel the springs in the bed, too, although it wasn't too bad.
3. The "fitness center" can only barely qualify as such. The elliptical machine squeaked so loudly that I couldn't stand to use it, the treadmill kept slowing back down after I would speed it up, and the upright bike looks like a wreck. The weight machines do have a minimal degree of function.
4. The rooms have very poor lighting. It's tough to see to put makeup on, etc.
5. The staff at the front desk seemed sullen and disinterested when I checked in.

Bottom line: Stay at the other Wingate or at the Hampton Inn next door!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jik76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelissaMullis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2009

As this posting is over 2 years old, please don't let it deter you from staying with us. As the new General Manager, my staff & I have made numerous improvements to the property. A well trained front desk staff that will treat you like family, a new head of housekeeping and maintenance staff. We aren't perfect, but we are clean, friendly and easy on your pocket book!
Give us a try, you can "Count on Us".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Augusta West
Holiday Inn Augusta West
#28 of 84 in Augusta
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Fort Gordon
0.2 mi away
Best Western Augusta West
Best Western Augusta West
#2 of 5 in Grovetown
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#35 of 84 in Augusta
66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Augusta
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#2 of 84 in Augusta
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area

Address: 4087 Jimmie Dyess Pkwy, Augusta, GA 30909-9469 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Augusta)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: $109 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
100 room 4 story interior corridor property, featuring suites, expanded breakfast, business center, internet access, meeting rooms, fitness center, outdoor swimming pool. Free parking. Four miles from Fort Gordon, located within minutes of major companies: ADP, T-Mobile, John Deere & more. Discounts for military, senior citizens, AAA, AARP, groups and corporate rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Augusta West - Ft Gordon Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Augusta Hotel Augusta
Wingate Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing