We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite side is very nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Initially they gave us the wrong room and it was musty and damp smelling. But it was quickly rectified and we were moved to the suite we reserved. The suite side was very nice and the Concierge lounge was nice too. My daughter took advantage of the indoor pool but it was too cold for my husband.
The economy has taken its toll on downtown Augusta. Broad street and the river walk area had many empty buildings and isn't as walker friendly as the visitor websites suggest.
If you need to be in this area this hotel would be a nice choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lkzmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to get you and your family checked-in in the correct guest room. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 491 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our state association holds its conference here every few years. Marissa, the conference manager is wonderful. The rooms are reasonably priced and are very comfortable. Augustino's, the restaurant, is good and reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregBar35091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will pass along your compliments to Marisa. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Made an overnight trip to August with friends on 2/23/13 to see a local theater production. Had stayed at the Marriott one particular time prior, and suggested it once again. The hotel is fine, and the river-walk levee along the river is lovely. Parking is a bit awkward in that the spaces themselves are TINY! It is impossible to park 2 cars side-by-side, and get out, without hitting the car beside you. Thankfully I wasn't driving, but my travel companion was non-too-pleased that his new vehicle was going to be subject to this. We parked on the FAR side of hte garage in hopes that no one would park beside us. The guestroom was clean and tidy, although, it's time for some re-grouting in the shower. All in all, a nice visit. Oh yeah...On the Marriott Suites side of the hotel (backside) is a GREAT little restaurant called Bollweevils....AMAZINGLY HUGE desserts! We bought eight!!!

Room Tip: River-View is nice, but probably costs more....downtown Augusta views aren't all that great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fsumtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for recently staying with us. We appreciate your comments and will pass them along to our maintenance team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I came to Augusta to visit my husband who was stationed at Fort Gordon. He was not able to stay with me, so I booked this hotel because I was not familiar with the area and thought that if I paid a little more that I would definitely be safe. Untrue.

When I first entered the hotel, it seemed nice and a little outdated. But that was okay. The front desk staff seemed nice but nothing out of the ordinary. We checked in and went to our room which seemed ordinary. The room was facing the entrance, so I could view 10th street easily. Our curtains would not close all the way. You could close one side, but the other side would open right back up. A tad annoying but not entirely a deal breaker.

I had to drop my husband back on base by midnight, so we left the hotel. Upon leaving, we stopped at the stop light 1/2 block over and saw numerous (what I imagine to be) prostitutes crossing the cross walk and walking the streets around us. I dont know... strippers maybe? Wearing tights and a thong on top. Yikes....

I come back to the hotel and park in the parking garage... every spot is just a tad too small so most people parked their car in 2 spaces. Frustrating when you're paying $7 per day.. for that. At about 12:30am I walk back into the hotel. The sign says "Must use key card to enter after hours". I am wondering what the after hours were because I didnt have to use my key card to enter. You walk down a ramp and can enter an elevator that is wide open. To me, that was not a great safety measure. Anyone can walk right into the hotel, duck into the elevator and go where ever in the hotel. The back of the hotel door instructs you to lock AND deadbolt your door and make sure you check the peep hole before answering your door. Obviously I would do that anyway. But I thought they would take better precautions than that.

So I get back to my room, lock the door and get ready for bed. I go into the bathroom to wash my face and brush my teeth. I turn on the water and the sink just starts filling up with water, wont drain at all. I turn off the water and the drain is EXTREMELY slow. I made sure to check to see if maybe something got hit to activate the plug... NOPE. Just a very slow drain.

Go to bed and get up to get in the shower.. the shower also has a very slow drain.

I opened up the closet by the bathroom and it smelled like urine... so I decided against unpacking and hanging up my clothes.

I dont normally write reviews but this was extremely disappointing

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

I am terribly sorry to hear of the challenges that you bring forth in your review about your stay at our hotel. All guest concerns are important to us and when items are brought forward we address them to the best of our ability, as we will do with the issues you bring up regarding your stay with us. We take pride in our hotel and staff and it is always disappointing to hear when a valued guest such as yourself is not happy with their stay. We will, however, use such commentary as a learning opportunity to improve upon our delivery of product and service.

We hope to see you in the future, at which time I am confident we will do a better job for you.

Sincerely,

Matthew Ricker
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Attended conference in Augusta. Stayed at the Marriott already 10+ times.
Hotel and rooms are very clean, staff always helpful. Stay on the suites side of the hotel,
the rooms are even nicer and bigger.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Suits tower are even nicer and bigger!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smarttax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here last week for 3 nights for a conference. We arrived earlier than expected, but they let us check in which was nice. The hotel was very clean inside, but getting around is kind of confusing. For some reason you have to go to the second floor to get to the lobby, and several times i (and other guests) got stuck going the wrong way. But once you figure it out, it isn't bad. The staff was very friendly and was always standing around in the main hallways asking if there was anything they could do. I was happy to see they had a Starbucks, but was disappointed that it was only open for the morning. As for the room, I thought the beds were divine and comfy, but my two friends who stayed with us had horrible backaches, so not sure who you should listen to, i will say they were more on the soft/fluffy side. The restaurant in the hotel is pretty tasty as well! And finally, when our flight changed randomly we rushed to ask the hotel shuttle if they could get us to the airport asap and he quickly drove us there, waiting to make sure we were able to get on the flight. The staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We will pass along your compliments to our hotel and restaurant staff. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Came to Augusta to run half marathon and checked trip advisor for hotels. Although this isn't ranked the highest it should be. Seems to be pretty new rooms big and all clean. Front desk staff helpful and nice. All for a fair price. Although I didn't bother it is right on the river which seemed nice. Easy walk to Broad street where there was a great book store,couple of art and antique galleries. Plus no problem to get late check so I can grab a shower after the race. Oh and the resturant was very good for diner.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AugustaMarriott, Social Media Specialist at Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our friendly staff was helpful. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
2.4 mi away
The Partridge Inn Augusta, Curio Collection by Hilton
8.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#1 of 85 in Augusta
306 reviews
6.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Augusta North
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Augusta
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Augusta Hotel
Sheraton Augusta Hotel
#16 of 85 in Augusta
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center

Address: 2 10th St, Augusta, GA 30901-1133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#12 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range: $151 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Augusta Marriott at the Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Marriott At The Hotel Augusta
Marriott Augusta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing