We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to usual HGI standards.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Augusta
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Ocean Isle Beach, NC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Not up to usual HGI standards.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Not many yrs. ago, Hilton introduced the 'Garden Inns', Hilton's brand of the 'express hotel'. It carried the Hilton name out to smaller towns and along the interstates. It was designed to compete in the premium market, with Marriott Courtyard.
I've been a huge fan, but wondered how they would fare when they got old and run-down. Now I know. This particular HGI is in a very congested area, with every chain imaginable, and gets a lot of use/abuse. I got a suite and the carpet was filthy and worn. I could turn the water in a carpet cleaner to mud in 60 seconds. Please replace it, or at least call a steam cleaner.
The other big negative to watch for is hot water takes a VERY long time to draw. I thought it would never come - literally 5 min. The shower alternated from cold to scalding hot - be careful.
Staff at front was good - restaurant staff was incompetent. Breakfast is always good at HGI's, but generally costs around $10. This hotel began breaking down the buffet too soon, which is odd since you are paying for it. Other Hiltons generally give folks a chance to finish eating, and even then ask if there's anything else you want.
Probably the worst HGI I've stayed in, but HGI's are generally a great product. Funny, it was also the most expensive HGI on this trip, and I stayed in 4 HGI's on this trip.
I would probably opt for one the hotels next door next time - a Sheraton and a Courtyard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cruisedoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
First we want to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to let us know your concerns with our hotel. We take great pride in our hotel and want to assure you that each and every comment you left us will be used as constructive criticism. We apologize for the inconvienences that you were faced with and want you to know that we will be speaking to our staff about these. Thank you agian for staying with us and we hope that if you are in the are again you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    136
    45
    22
    16
See reviews for
187
87
42
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I came to Augusta for just a few days and chose this HGI. The property is new and very clean. The lobby is beautiful and comfortable.. and they have fresh cookies out every evening! Really nice for a short getaway. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return here!

Room Tip: The other reviewers were right - that elevator is LOUD. I asked for a room away from it and I could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpatterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to write us about your stay. We're glad that we were able to accomodate all of your needs and we also apologize for the elevator and any troubles that it may have caused you. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Everything about the HGI felt new and clean, from the carpeting to the paint to the pool towels.

The lobby is very accommodating for finding a quiet spot out of your room to read a book, watch tv, or have one of the warm cookies set out every evening. The pool was clean and warm. The internet in the business center was free, as was printing.

We had 2 queen beds with an outer sitting area. There were two televisions, one bathroom, and the outer sitting area had a sofa. There was an in-room refrigerator. The beds have adjustable firmness. Very nice!

The staff was so kind. We had a minor maintenance issue (nothing predictable; we needed fresh batteries) but what was surprising was how quickly they arrived to address it. Some hotels have an hours-long wait for the maintenance department to arrive.

The buffet breakfast is very good. We had fresh fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, milk, muffins, bagels, toast, cereal, eggs, bacon, sausage, and potatoes. You can make your own waffles. There are also other options if you talk to the chef. He/she can set you up with chicken fried steak, fried eggs, and maybe even French toast. We ate there every morning since there was something for everyone.

The hotel is off of I-20. It's about a 10 minute ride to the center of Augusta, but it's a direct route. There is a Mexican restaurant next door, but I would probably drive to everywhere else, even if it was just the Krispy Kreme down the street, since it is a busy street

Room Tip: We had 2 double beds with an outer seating area, which gave our family of four, including 2 teens, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reader40Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
We greatly appreciate the time and effort that you took to let us know how much you enjoyed your recent stay here with us in Augusta, Ga. We thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will come stay with us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Augusta and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel exterior and interior is well kept and very clean. The lobby has Southern charm. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were very friendly and accommodating. Convieniently located in a prime location off of Washington Road. Plenty of restaurants, shops, coffee houses, gas stations, hotels, banks etc. Complimentary Wi-Fi was a plus. Plenty of cable channels to watch. The rooms are large. Our room had a whirlpool which I used. It was amazing. The beds are very comfortable. We found it challenging to get out of it. The cooked to order breakfast adjacent to the lobby was delicious and inexpensive. I would recommend this hotel to any family staying in Augusta GA. The next time we're in Augusta, this will be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Avoid going to in search for breakfast. Their full service cooked to order breakfast is delicious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deedee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel! We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

This HGI property is right off I-20 in Augusta, well-located, near gas stations, a host of restaurants, Starbucks, and a liquor store behind the property. The rooms are well-appointed, clean and fresh. The adjustable beds work as advertised and were a great sleeping experience. Tolietries are upscale Neutrogena products in generous-sized bottles. Air conditioning was excellent--kept the room comfortable on a unusually warm day in November.

I was tremendously impressed by the front desk's handling of a maintenance problem in my room. The water pressure was unacceptably low in the shower, especially for a late afternoon. I was immediately moved to another room at my request, and the engineer on duty came by to personally apologize for the problem--he gave me coupons for a complimentary appetizer and drink at the restaurant. This was over and above--something I would expect from a higher-end brand--well done and thank you very much!!

The indoor pool was clean, with large towels provided in the area. The business center was well-appointed with up-to-date PCs and printers. Wireless connections were strong all through the property.

The prices for alcoholic beverages at this property are excessive--$8 for a mixed drink and $5+ for a beer--no draft beer available. Save your bucks and walk to the family owned liquor store behind the property if you must have an adult beverage. The breakfast food was good, served by friendly staff.

I noticed local law enforcement patrolled the parking lot pretty frequently--that's a nice feeling to have--please have your management contact the local Sheriff's Office to ask them to continue the practice--it reflects well on your property.

Room Tip: Rooms near the elevator are noisy as previous reviewers have stated. Excessive noise from other roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us and our loyal guests know about your recent stay with us. We do use all comments and concerns to better our hotel and we take everything to heart. We're pleased that we were able to accmodate your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as part of a wedding group and were given a room near the elevator and it was a horrible experience. The elevator make a "chime" noise each time it stops on the floor and it sounded like a door bell ringing all night long. To make matters worse, there were some people cursing and arguing in the hallway from about 2:30am until almost 4am. I finally called security and the officer did come up promptly to resolve the situation. It just made for a night without any sleep. I finally checked out before 6am since I had not slept anyway. I noticed that another reviewer posted a similar comment regarding loud guests so it makes me wonder if the hotel attracts this element.

Nonetheless, the rooms and hotel were clean and appeared to be well kept. The lobby bar was a nice touch however we did not eat at the restaurant. The parking lot filled up fast and spaces were few to none early in the evening. I would stay here again but will not take a room anywhere near the elevators. I would not use this hotel to host any events because the parking is shared with other hotels in the complex and spaces fill up quickly.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eridam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for yhour recent stay with us and for letting us know your thoughts and suggestions about our property. We do apologize for any issues you had during your stay and suggest that next time call the hotel ahead of time and request a room away from the elevator. All of our hotels were at full capacity this weekend and that would account for the lack of parking, we do however apologize for this inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is probably one of the nicer chain hotels in town. The rooms seem fresh and up-to-date. Lobby is nice. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwsams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport_group, Social Media Specialist at Hilton Garden Inn Augusta, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your hotel! We're glad that we were able to suit your needs and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Augusta West
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Augusta-Washington Rd
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Augusta
Hyatt Place Augusta
#1 of 84 in Augusta
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 84 in Augusta
627 reviews
2.5 mi away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Augusta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Augusta

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Augusta
Address: 1065 Stevens Creek Rd, Augusta, GA 30907-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Augusta
#2 Family Hotel in Augusta
#6 Business Hotel in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Augusta 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Augusta's Newest Hilton Property!! We have 114 rooms & suites and are completely nonsmoking. Located 2 miles from the Augusta National Golf Course and 1 mile from the GA/SC border. We are located off of I/20 & Washington Road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Augusta Ga Hotel Augusta
Hilton Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing