We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If You're in Augusta, Why Not Check it Off the List? :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haunted Pillar

Haunted Pillar
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If You're in Augusta, Why Not Check it Off the List? :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a unique column surrounded by mystery in an odd location on the corner of an intersection. The building behind it, which is now a tattoo parol, has taken great opportunity to name their shop after the pillar and the mural on the store is very well done. I recommend that if you're in Augusta, why not swing by and take some pictures and dare to touch it. Drove by, parked, took pictures with 3 other friends, crossed it off and continued to our primary objective. Gave it 3 stars due to preservation, quick stop, and historic tie in; 1 additional star for mystery~.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GoogleEarth_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    12
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“haunted pillar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

it is a well known attraction to most in Augusta, GA. children like to ride by it and say there it is, there it is. It is just one pillar on a street corner downtown to any one else but it is part of the great history of the town and has an unusual story that is easy to goggle.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have lived in Augusta all my life. The haunted pillar is just a post that is on the corner of the street. No need for anyone to take a tour to see it, or pay any money to learn facts about it. It's in a bad part of downtown so don't go after dark, or with children or elderly because chances are you will get robbed, stabbed, or killed. A lot of prostitute's hang around this area too, since the only strip clubs in Augusta are located only minutes away from the pillar. I would really hate for anyone to take to much time out of their stay in Augusta thinking that this is an actual attraction.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaD243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Amusing stop if you are right nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were bored and needed something to do with our grandson soldier that we were visiting. Drove around downtown a bit, and stopped to see the pillar. Luckily I had some background info to read about it, or it would seem like nothing. It seems that the pillar was once part of a building that stood there. An itinerant preacher was kicked out of town, and as he left he said that one day the building would be knocked down and all that would remain would be this pillar....to remind the city of him. A few months later a tornado came through and did just that (see the picture that the tour guide is holding up) Then, anyone who tried to move or knock down the pillar was killed. So it remains today. A little hokey, but hey, if you are in the area, stop and see it and then go down the street to the James Brown, godfather of soul, statue as well.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Go-whenever-I-can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appling, Georgia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Joke?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Some Chamber of Commerce types are really stretching to create something from nothing here. The thing was just too heavy to move, or else it would have been long gone in Augusta, certainly not well known for preserving genuine historical artifacts. Now, if it had been a ten-foot-tall lighted plastic cross on top of a downtown building, the faithful would swarm.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Frederic3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haunted Pillar also viewed

 

Been to Haunted Pillar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing