We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Phinizy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phinizy Swamp Nature Park

Phinizy Swamp Nature Park
Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved Phinizy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back from Phinizy where we had a blast. The swap experience was a new one for me...a bonafide city girl. It was amazingly serene and a little scary :-) If you don't like bugs you should drive right by. The tree moss, the birds, the rabbits all make a visit worth while. I got to see an armadillo face to creepy lil' face & loved it!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Day117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    42
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lot of snakes when its warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Yes I know its a swamp and there will be snakes but there are A LOT in the warm months. We like to go when its colder. It's a very nice walk. There are different paths to take depending on how far you want to walk. Some of the paths are stroller friendly but most are not. It is dog friendly also.

Helpful?
Thank thefosters04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good, relaxing way to spend an hour when in Augusta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Had a morning to kill while on business travel, so we headed out to the swamp. How many times can you say that? Really! Not every town has a nearby swamp for you to visit. It was bit of a drive, but well worth the effort.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TNmilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Ga
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great field trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

3rd graders went out for a field trip this year. My son couldn't stop taking about it. Husband actually enjoyed the trip as well. Great science field trip

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank eeyore1595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Spend an Afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I enjoy looking for birds. We did find a couple new birds, so that made the trip worth the drive. It was hot the day we went so we did not see everything. It has a lot of nice trails and most of the trails are easy to walk. I noticed a few bikes out there also.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Dillo1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phinizy Swamp Nature Park also viewed

 

Been to Phinizy Swamp Nature Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing