We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boyhood Home of President Woodrow Wilson

The Boyhood Home of President Woodrow Wilson
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Augusta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Woodrow Wilson Boyhood Home, a National Historic Landmark, is located at 419 7th St. within the boundaries of the Augusta Downtown Historic District. The Boyhood Home of President Woodrow Wilson serves as a house museum depicting the life of the 28th President as a boy growing up in Georgia during the Civil War and Reconstruction. As the oldest Presidential residence in the state, it serves as an educational facility and a historic attraction for the City of Augusta, the State of Georgia and the Nation. It is owned and operated by Historic Augusta, Inc.
London, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it. - George Santayana This is my third Wilson home to visit and an indispensable hit on my Bucket List. See where the boy Tommy etched his name in the glass and the window from which the child could hear the screams of Civil War soldiers being operated on.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank hqipcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traveling
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Historical Importance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nice to see where Woodrow Wilson lived the first 14 years of his life and how he was influenced by the Civil War outside his door. The guide tells about how a "kitchen is not attached to the structure due to fire" and a hundreds of other pieces of info that you hear at any home tour. I would like more info about Woodrow, Augusta, the influences, etc and less about the basic, "this is a dining room".

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeenaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“surprisingly interesting--you won't be bored here for this hour tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

at first, we didn't want to do the hour tour..we were just passing thru Augusta and just wanted to say we saw his home...but the tour conducted by Stephanie was top-notch...she explains all facets on this home in the hour and makes it very interesting...from the history of the town to the architecture of the home, this tour is more than just a presidential biopic of "Tommy" Woodrow WIlson...a must-see...worth the $5!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank xenaht2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipp City, Ohio
Level Contributor
280 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“So Educational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

History buffs, we enjoy going through historical places, and are glad we stopped here. Our tour guide was so well informed. We feel like we know not only Woodrow Wilson, but Augustans who lived in his era. Woodrow was "Tommy" until he went to college. Tommy spent his formative years here from age 1 to 15, the son of a Presbyterian Minister. The church provided them with a beautiful parsonage nextdoor to a playmate who grew up to be Supreme Court Justice Lamar. Lamar lived in the First Christian church parsonage, the son of a minister also. We also toured the slaves' apartment out back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great tour guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Interesting to learn about Woodrow Wilson and how his childhood influenced his political views. The guide was very knowledgeable and we enjoyed the tour.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelwhileukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boyhood Home of President Woodrow Wilson also viewed

 

Been to The Boyhood Home of President Woodrow Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing