We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Intimate theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Imperial Theatre

Imperial Theatre
Ranked #13 of 46 things to do in Augusta
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Imperial Theatre is noted in the National Register as critical to the character of the Broad Street Historic District. At ninety-two years old, with its immutable history, Edwardian style structure and current function it is the only medium size traditional proscenium theatre capable of flying scenery in the Augusta area, and for this reason it is a critical component of the infrastructure for area performing arts groups. It is the only performing arts theatre within a 150-mile radius that connects artists and audience members to historic social entertainment by providing a gracious and historic setting for all area citizens.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Intimate theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I were quite surprised at the age & the charm of this theatre, we loved it! Def will be back to see more shows! It felt like we were in somebody's living room, it had a close family feel and that was one thing that made it really special! I love buildings like this and i'm glad that its still open!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank twocomplicated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful & historic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The Imperial Theatre is still a gorgeous, historic place. If you ever get the opportunity to go there for any event, please do go. Support this local icon and soak up the ambiance.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“In desperate need of repair, funding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

There are only four stalls in the women's bathroom. Be prepared for a LONG wait. The seating in the balcony is ripped. Paint is peeling off of the beautiful walls. It is just sad. The beauty of the facility must be revived, because the productions are top notch!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 75peaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have seen several shows at the Imperial because I live in Augusta Georgia.
I really don't see anything fab about the place. I don't know, maybe I'm missing something.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaD243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Older Needs Renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have already seen all the performances they have here many years ago. It is great for children who go on field trips. Affordable tickets but you will not find Broadway level performances here. I have heard that they are planning on renovating but things happen very slowly in this area.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoveValue-Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Imperial Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing