We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner Needs To Invest in the Property”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sleep Inn Augusta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Augusta
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Owner Needs To Invest in the Property”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

I used to frequently stay at this hotel when I visited the area on business. I have not stayed there the last couple years as the property has gone down hill, but needed a room for a last minute trip in July 2011 and decided to give it another try as many other places were full or beyond my budget. Let's just say, I should have spent more money for another hotel! The room I stayed in had an old damp smell to them. It was so bad that it seeped into the clothes that I took into my room and smelled up my car the following day. It was miserable. Used to be a pretty clean property at an affordable rate and appears to have a pretty good number of customers, but the property has gone downhill, and has certainly lost me as a customer. Stay away until they fully update this property.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    15
    16
    10
See reviews for
27
12
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I was very nervous staying here due to the bad reviews here, but I was in town for a wedding and this was the hotel with blocked rooms for guests. We ended up here because the other hotel (which I will not name) was unable to handle the fact that we were arriving a day before the wedding-block officially started. Sleep Inn had no problem with us showing up a day before the other wedding guests. We had no problems at all.
It's nothing fancy, but if you are wanting fancy, you don't stay at the Sleep Inn, right? The staff was very friendly (one kind lady even braided my daughter's hair for the wedding since my husband had to get the kids ready and was at a loss on what to do with her hair). We really enjoyed the make-your-own waffles the first 2 days and after we were tired of those we had oatmeal. If you stay too long you might run out of variety, but fine for a few days.
Beds were very comfortable and we had a good sleep. Personally I prefer the sink to be inside the bathroom, but not a deal-breaker for me. Hotel seemed clean enough that I wasn't nervous about my small kids picking up something gross.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank NomadicKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

breakfest is terrible! i've only seen the first floor but the carpet could use replacing. The biggest problem that i have had is that when you pay with your debt card the hold 2x the amount of the room. thats just plain crazy. I don't care what there reason is its just nuts

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanewaldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I was in Augusta GA for a Basketball Tournament, so we rented a room from Sleep Inn on Claussen Rd with a visa credit card. I have no complaints about the condition of the room. However, when I checked out at 10:30 a.m., my receipt only reflected the correct amount of service which was $73.00.

Later that night I checked my online banking statement, which revealed 3 additional charges pending from Sleep Inn without prior authorization. I contacted Management and they avoided my phone calls, did not give any explanations, told me they were working on it and to call back in a week, and even received rude conversation from the desk clerks. Management is very unprofessional in my opinion.

The stay was nice but again; don’t use your credit card!!!!!

It took my bank to over turn the extra charges

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldfashionedlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

Called and reserved a block of 4 rooms for a pleasure trip of friends. Guaranteed with c/c and was given a conf. # ----4 kings two nights. I was unable to go on trip but kept the block for remaining travelers. Upon their arrival they were told reservation was for only 1 night and that they would have to vacate on next day. Trying to trouble shoot on phone I was told I'm sorry you were given a guaranteed reservation for two nights ...that's not our problem if our staff messes up...WOW. Spoke to Manager (also part owner) on Monday and was told I don't care that you had the problem and if you're looking for some sort of satisfaction from us in the way of a comp night or refund.... "you won't get it. I'm not responsible for our staff making a mistake !!!" Double WOW. Way to go Sleep Inn Corporate. Great choice in a franchise owner.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lgrayboatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lcg61, General Manager at Sleep Inn Augusta, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
This reservation was for 1 night. We were completely booked for the next night. Guest was very unpleasant on the phone . We were already booked for the second night when he made his reservation.I never turn business away and would have loved to accomodate him if I had been able to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

New Years Eve and we had a room next to a very noisy couple. Complained at 2:00 a.m. Nothing happened. No sleep. Tried to sleep late next morning. Had to call at 6:00 a,.m. about these horrible neighbors yelling at each other. Staff called room but would not send anyone down there. Staff member just asked us when we planned to leave. Room was outdaed and musty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Very comfortable stay. The bed was more comfortable than my own at home. Customer service was great.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jay48657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Augusta hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#7 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.2 mi away
ECCO Suites of Augusta
ECCO Suites of Augusta
#10 of 82 in Augusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Knights Inn Augusta
Knights Inn Augusta
#45 of 82 in Augusta
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Augusta - Washington Road
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Augusta North
0.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 82 in Augusta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Augusta

Property: Sleep Inn Augusta
Address: 1050 Claussen Rd, Augusta, GA 30907-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Augusta 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing