We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Augusta
Reviewed December 4, 2011

$38 special on expedia and stayed 7 nights; clean and safe; interiors entrance with side exits locked at night; 3 floors with elevator; basic furniture in king bed rm; flatscreen tv; small closet; small frig w/microwave; great water pressure; some hot items for breakfast; free newspaper; small laundry, internet, and fitness center; no bugs and not trashy; walls are thin but I did not have any issues with noise makers; Better than I thought. Friendly staff. Would stay again.

Room Tip: stay on third floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerrc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 304 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

The only thing that I liked about this hotel was the convience of being close to Fort Gordon. The walls in the rooms was paper thin, you could hear the people next door talking as well as their tv. The front desk clerk was not courteous. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We arrived at midnight, driving from Louisiana for my son's graduation at Fort Gordan. We were assigned a room, which I made reservations 2 weeks before and also called twice on drive there letting them know we were going to be later arriving, we were given a room that was not clean, when we went to desk to notify them, Paula, who was great, took care of everything, we were given 2 king suites at same price for room we reserved! Breakfast was great! I can not complain, The whole place was clean, neat, and very nice.It took me 3 hours of reading reviews to pick this hotel and i was still worried, if you want a very nice place to stay and clean and with great staff, and affforable, this is the hotel!!! I would reccomend to anyone staying in Augusta. Thank you Paula for GREAT Service !!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieLouisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was absolutely great value for the money. The room was clean and well maintained. The breakfast was awesome at that price point! The hotel was very convenient to Fort Gordon and the staff was very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank famhistrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. Employees were so polite. The girl at desk knew everyone by name. The Inn was full the two nights that we were there but it was quiet. I could not ask for a better stay. We will be back. Thank you Howard Johnson employees.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We did not get the ground fllor room which we had reserved. There was only one evtrance to this hotel, making it necessary to enter through the front door each time. We asked for an extra pillow and were told they were locked in a storage room which only the manager had a key. The manager had gone to a party and was not available.
We were only in the third floor room we didn't want for ten minutes when the door across the hall started making a loud beeping noise. We called and asked for someone to come and stop the noise as it was 10 at night and we were tired. She took 15 minutes to show up and all she did was jiggle the door and it stopped.
2 hours later it started beeping loudly again. We called and complained and the manager (who had finally showed up) came up and acted very put out that we had complained. He said they did not have any control over the noise. He stated that it was the occupants fault for not shutting their door very hard. I tried to replicate that while he was there with my own door an it would not stay open no matter what I tried. My husband asked what they could do to satisfy us as customers because of the interruption in sleep and his surly and outright lying behavior. He restated that it was the customer's fault and started to walk away. My husband asked if they could then refund part ot all of our money as they did not give us the room we wanted in the first place. He said he would refund the money as he was walking away.
We followed him down a few minutes later.
He refunded our money and then told us we had to leave. We asked if there was not anything else they could do to satisfy us as customers and he asked us to leave. We had to go pack our bags and drive home with no sleep as there were no other rooms available in the area.
This is not the way to treat what could have been a regular customer. We travel to this area once a month to see our grandchildren.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AugustaBoundGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The smell of Lysol was overpowering. The floors were greasy with cleaner. The windows won't open. They advertised a pool but the tiny pool is at the hotel next door. We reserved non-smoking rooms but found one to be horribly smoky. The beds are double, not queen-sized.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Augusta
0.0 mi away
Hawthorn Suites
Hawthorn Suites
#43 of 84 in Augusta
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Near Fort Gordon
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Augusta West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Augusta West
0.4 mi away
Best Western Augusta West
Best Western Augusta West
#2 of 5 in Grovetown
200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Augusta/Near Fort Gordon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon

Address: 4045 Jimmie Dyess Pkwy, I-20 Exit 194, Augusta, GA 30909-9491
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Augusta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Augusta
Price Range: $55 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Augusta-Fort Gordon Hotel Augusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing