We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still not good”
Review of Taj of India

Taj of India
Ranked #37 of 491 Restaurants in Augusta
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
McCormick, SC
Level Contributor
336 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Still not good”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I reviewed this Indian restaurant in July 2011 and found it to be average at best. Some friends had told me it had improved so we gave it another try. If anything the food has slipped. Everything was so bland. No bold Indian flavors in anything. The selections looked different but taste wise there was little difference. The Tandoori Chicken had a little kick to it but even the legs and thighs were dry. Many Indian restaurants are featuring some nice chutney condiments but not here. The rice desert was really good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank captmorgan40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    31
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
131 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian food, good service, pleasant environment”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We frequently eat Indian and can quickly identify an authentic taste of India. This restaurant had a good range of dishes but I would have liked a slightly wider range (e.g. Kashmiri dishes Dhansak etc) but what we had was excellent. The staff were very attentive and overall it was a good experience. Something we always look for - the number of Indian people eating in an Indian restaurant as a measure of its authenticity - this was very popular with people from India!
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank probinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Get some spice in your life!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Delicious authentic Indian food. A must try in Augusta

Helpful?
1 Thank SizzleMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
190 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Over-rated Indian in Augusta”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Don't fall for this high rating because this place is average, not good and definitely not excellent. I went on a week night. It was moderately busy. They only have about 15 tables and they all seat 4, so not that good for couples. I had Vindaloo and garlic naan bread. The meat was not tender and the naan bread not very good--no trace of garlic even after asking if this was really garlic naan bread. I have eaten lots of good and bad Indian food, This is neither.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hayes_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Taj is the absolute best. Wonderful, savory high-quality Indian cuisine representing several different regions in India. The best and friendliest service, finally some "southern" hospitality...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj of India also viewed

 

Been to Taj of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing