We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy sandwiches” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big City Bread Cafe

Big City Bread Cafe
Ranked #18 of 410 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local family owned and operated restaurant two blocks out of downtown Athens serving affordable but high quality ingredients utilizing locally farmed produce and meats. All breads and pastries made in-house daily. Fabulous outdoor seating on an expansive courtyard. Welcoming to families with young children.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Yummy sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

What a great sandwich shop. We stopped for lunch and had the special of the day and it was amazing. They are open for dinner and serve alcohol but can't comment as we only did lunch. Cute, cozy place. Parking can be tricky but worth the hunt.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 2105stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    59
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Bad experience. Poor Attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've eaten here several times and typically have enjoyed my meals. My last visit was very disappointing. This may have been a one time event, but the employees and management didn't really seem to care to make things right. I was in on a Saturday afternoon around 2pm. After spending in excess of $50 for lunch for 4 (not cheap for a quick-serve setup), it took nearly an hour for the food to arrive. I asked the front counter people and multiple servers about the status of our order and I received indifferent, unhelpful answers. Our order eventually arrived, missing a few things, not very hot and without any apology. There are too many other options in Athens to have to put up with this kind of attitude. Perhaps their success has gone to their head.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grey528, Owner at Big City Bread Cafe, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
On behalf of the restaurant and my family we apologize sincerely for your bad experience. We strive hard through quality of food, service & work ethic to continue business here in Athens. With this all mind, we do understand as a business that sometimes quality of both can and will occasionally slip through the cracks. Please do not view our family business as anything other than absolutely gratified for the business we have and always will continue to strive to maintain it. Please accept a gift certificate from us so that we can earn your business back and I will personally look into the experience you described and hopefully clarify to our employees how we tend business at big city bread.

Sincerely,
Matthew R Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

This is where I take out-of-towners for breakfast, brunch, or lunch. The food is fresh and tasty, and it is so lovely to sit outside on a beautiful day (they have a wonderful, large patio). If you can, get there ealry on Sunday, this place fills up quickly! It's a great choice for dinner, too, though it is more of a "special occasion" dinner choice. Overall, one of my favorites in Athens!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitetop, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I really enjoy eating at Big City Bread. It's located in a neighborhood and is just an eclectic kind of place. You'll see students, profs, families, singles. . . a nice mix. The food is always good and service is usually fairly quick (everything is made to order). During Sunday brunch it can be a bit slow, but just sit back and have another cup of coffee. They offer outside dining and have a nice selection of menu items from which to choose. The baked good are wonderful (try the molasses/ginger cookies.) Two draw-backs . . . 1) parking is a pain. A note warns patrons not to park at the Wendy's across the street because they will tow. Funny, Wendy's never has enough diners to fill up the back section of their parking lot close to BCB. 2) Ask for your coffee to be made from the coffee maker that provides 190 degree water. The other makes coffee that is very warm, but not hot.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VASusie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Brunch in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Big City Bread Cafe is known around town for it's brunch and rightfully so. The coffee selection is great, the brunch options are plentiful and ALL of them are delicious! Have plenty of time, sometimes it gets crowded and the line can take a while, but it is so worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sgleaton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big City Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing