We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big City Bread Cafe

Big City Bread Cafe
Ranked #17 of 410 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A local family owned and operated restaurant two blocks out of downtown Athens serving affordable but high quality ingredients utilizing locally farmed produce and meats. All breads and pastries made in-house daily. Fabulous outdoor seating on an expansive courtyard. Welcoming to families with young children.
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Big City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Delicious bread, wonderful atmosphere, beautiful landscape.

Helpful?
1 Thank viviavila_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    59
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danielsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Try the desserts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I eat here as often as I can. I have a friend theat lives across the street and every time I visit I stop by to see what the specials are.

The sandwiches are always good, the bread is fresh made and all the produces is fresh and delicious. The hamburgers are really good, some of the best in town.

And don't forget the dessert, they have cookies the size of dinner plates that are excellent. Actually I am quilts of stopping in just for dessert and coffe.

If you are looking for a nice spot to kill some time, they have free Internet and lots of outsides seating, you can even bring your dog.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Reaganspopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I've had breakfast here many times, and have also tried their lunch and dinner. This is a great place to go for dinner, actually, despite it's reputation as a popular breakfast spot. Breakfast is good, and the outdoor seating always fills up during the school year. The service is very friendly, and the coffee and pastries are as good as any in the city. This is another place (in addition to the Heirloom cafe) that I always recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best fries in town!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

If you're into the organic, local food scene this place is a must try! Kids get free chalk to draw all over the outdoor section and dogs are welcome outside as well! Inside is classy and comfortable and the fries are the best I've ever had!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Like most of the restaurants in Athens that I really enjoy, this place has good cheap food, you can eat outside, and you can bring your dog. Try the quiche - I usually hate quiche, but the stuff the make is outstanding!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zuellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big City Bread Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Big City Bread Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing