We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a town like this, you have to be prepared!”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #66 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Mellow Mushroom is proud to serve Athens with delicious pizza, hoagies, calzones, salads, and now burgers! Providing quality food since 1974, we use fresh ingredients on all our menu items. Mellow Mushroom is more than just a pizza restaurant; it is where Athens pizza lovers and beer lovers gather. Our menu and locations are as eclectic as our fans. Join the beer club, shop our Mellow shirts and see the unique artwork in each of our locations. The search for the best pizza in Athens is over.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“In a town like this, you have to be prepared!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I was in town for a large statewide-citywide conference. I stopped in to get a slice of pizza....thinking how long could this take??? Well about an hour just to get the pizza! I had to ask for a straw 3 times and had to get up and go get a napkin. It was disappointing that this restaurant wasn't more prepared. While there were a few hundred people in town for the conference, it is no comparison to the number of people there on a football Saturday. Staff needs to be trained on how to handle busy times. They certainly should have basic restaurant skills like 'do not' adjust your ponytail while you are standing over food you are about to deliver to a table! The bartender did that! Not sure I will return to this location when there is a lot going on in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomiJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    45
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great location for watching a Sunday football. Convenient downtown location. Lots of beer on tap. Would recommend

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawyerdaggett
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Quality food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Enjoyed ourselves today at the MM in downtown Athens on game day. The veggie hummus was top notch, as was the stuff portobella (sp?) mushroom with balsamic dressing. It is more akin to a salad with a huge, delicious mushroom. The Mighty Meaty pizza was pretty darn good, although not quite as good as the one at the MM in Asheville. Still, a worthy meal with very good service as well. We will be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lawyerdaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor service - pizza is nothing to write home about”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The bartenders lack personality. During football Sunday big notices are posted - if you are finished eating - please leave your table. Basically saying - we don't want you to just watch the game and take up valuable real estate. I sent in a complaint once via online - mgr was quick to respond which I appreciated...so we tried the restaurant again...only to get the same problem server, who ignored us and told the other servers about who we were and what we had said to the mgr. I really don't understand the reviews on this page....the service is terrible and even the food lacks anything better than a fast food McDonalds!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowless2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordele, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mellow Mushroom in Athens, GA”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Food was really good and the young lady who waited our table was friendly and talkative! It was a hot day but the restaurant was very comfortable. Would go there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrendaTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing