We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep, it's pizza.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #92 of 413 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mellow Mushroom is proud to serve Athens with delicious pizza, hoagies, calzones, salads, and now burgers! Providing quality food since 1974, we use fresh ingredients on all our menu items. Mellow Mushroom is more than just a pizza restaurant; it is where Athens pizza lovers and beer lovers gather. Our menu and locations are as eclectic as our fans. Join the beer club, shop our Mellow shirts and see the unique artwork in each of our locations. The search for the best pizza in Athens is over.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
454 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Yep, it's pizza.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Quirky little place in downtown Athens that caters to college crowd. Pizza, subs, salads, calzones. We ordered a pizza and greek side salads. Salads were fresh and the pizza was good. What did you expect? Nothing special...

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    18
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The food is definitely good. I rarely leave there disappointed in the quality of the food. Service, however, is a totally different story. Last time we went, we waited 10-15 minutes for a waitress to even come to our table after we had been seated. If you're in a hurry, I would recommend going someplace else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank illini511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
257 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very good calzone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice, reliable corporate chain restaurant with very good food. My wife and I arrived here just before 5:00 on a Thursday afternoon. A pretty hostess seated us immediately. My wife ordered an Italian Stallion Calzone to split with me. Our calzone came in a few minutes, and it was very good. I got a Coke, and my wife got a Sprite. Our pretty server, Carley, was friendly and very helpful. She did an excellent job. Our total for this supper for two cost a total of $14.93, including tax.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great pizza, laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a small chain of pizza places and the pizza is very tasty. The atmosphere runs more bar than family joint but a good choice for pizza and sandwiches.

Helpful?
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just another pizza place but they do have sandwiches also. The service is very slow, if you're in a hurry try another place.

Helpful?
Thank Dewey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing