We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Holiday Inn Express is a couple blocks down from the regular Holiday Inn, but still very close to downtown Athens and certainly walkable. I had no problems walking downtown for dinner and drinks. While the front of the hotel is fenced in, I found a small gate that I was able to use instead of having to walk all the way around to the car entrance. The area right next to the hotel hosts some low income housing but seemed to be safe. I slept great and didn't encounter any noise problems. Breakfast was very good with a large assortment of hot and cold items and was supervised by a very friendly lady. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Athens. Reasonable rate for some good accommodations close to downtown Athens.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seriousworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear seriousworldwanderer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback for your stay. We are conveniently located near many of Athens' main attractions, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of this!
We appreciate your comments, and look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    91
    63
    18
    16
See reviews for
70
55
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We got snowed in during the resent bad weather. The staff was wonderful, friendly, kind and made are stranded stay amazing. First Heathe Morgan the front desk manger called around too find out all the restaurants that were open but no one was delivering. She asked if anyone wanted to put in an order and drove to get it!!! We stayed on the first floor and it didn't smell as one poster said and had our pets with us. Right by are room was an exit door with a place for them to walk and do their bussiness. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Housekeeping didn't bother us so we got to sleep in. Breakfest was great and I loved their cinnamon rolls !!!!!! If I ever get straned in bad weather again I pray their is a Holiday Inn Express like this one !!!!! Thanks you guys !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Cindee57,

We are glad that you have such a pleasant experience! Our front desk staff is dedicated to maximizing customer satisfaction, and we are happy that were on the receiving end of it.
Comments like yours help us to constantly improve, so we thank you for your feedback and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I'm a Business Traveler with a realistic "College Town USA" expectation of the Athens Holiday Inn Express.

Whenever my profession takes me to Athens, I always stay at the Express, simply because I know as well as everyone else, that what you get as a guest is more than commensurate to the average price point that they ask for lodging. For me, its about economics simply because I travel quite a bit throughout the year. Clean bed, clean room, no extra charge for an above average continental breakfast. In all reality, who cares that the hotel is dead smack in the middle of a college town. I feel safe there, and nobody has ever messed with any of my belongings. What else can a business traveler ask for?

Keep doing what you are doing Athens Express.
You will always get my money when I am in town.

My calculator thanks you :P

Room Tip: If you do a LOT of business traveling, let your calculator conclude that this is the place you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebusinessclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear thebusinessclass,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback! As a regular visitor to the Holiday Inn Express, your comments are very valuable to us, and will help us to ensure that your experiences here continue to be positive. We look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milledgeville, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Fortunately, I avoided the noise and drunks mention by one reviewer. I also was fortunate when I discovered my Nokia phone was missing after checking out of a two day Pharmacy Symposeum held annually at this motel, and headed to a local eatery for a bite before going home. To make a short story even shorter, when I returned to look for it, I found it in the Motel's office. I will be forever greatful to the employee who found it. Loosing a cell phone is never a pleasent process.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. I was unfortunate to have been put in an end room opposite/away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Check-in was fine. We've stayed here before and knew what to expect. It's within walking distance of UGA, and the downtown area bars and restaurants. The place is always clean but make sure you don't get a room on the bottom (basement) floor. It smells like sewage. The rates are reasonable which is why we stay here. Being in the middle of the action there will be drunks making their way through the parking lot at night so make sure you remove your valuables from your car. There are many signs at the hotel to remind you of this.
The drunks in the room next to us kept my wife up for several hours from about 3 a.m. to 5 a.m. until she finally called the front desk. The noise stopped soon after so we suppose they dealt with it.
The free breakfast is above average with hot choices available.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms on the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couple2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear couple2005,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of other guests prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
229 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Jennifer was very nice at check in. She was nice to check us in a few minutes early. She had a very difficult customer before me, and was very patient and professional with regards to assisting the prior customer. Room was large but very dark. Not much lighting in dark room. Pet friendly hotel but no area to exercise the pet on hotel property. Our shower would not drain, but the hotel staff got that fixed within 5 minutes of me calling to report the issue. Great rate/value for the room($55) a night. Great location for campus and downtown. Walking distance(2 blocks) to downtown shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkdaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear jkdaves,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an with regard to the lighting in your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. We are highly motivated by your words and ensure you that we shall continue to strive for excellence. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Never before have I experienced such a horrible stay at a hotel. The hotel was filled with unruly drunk college kids who screamed, banged on doors, ran through hallways, got into fights. The hotel was visited by police but nothing seemed to stop the noise. I was there with a baby who was kept up until 5am with the noise. There was vomit everywhere that was not cleaned up even by noon the next morning. The rooms are tired and the couch was stained (probably with booze and vomit). Breakfast was a joke. They ran out of food 30 minutes before breakfast ended yet never refilled the food again.

There are many other choices in Athens, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Susan F,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Athens.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.6 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Athens
Address: 513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing