We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay of one night was just average...checking in was standard however lacking any enthusiasm or even much of a smile, lots going on at the time I guess. Also checking in were a group of softball tourney youths...more about that later. The property is in an older building with an odd configuration for the elevator, you have to use a ramp to go to the third floor to take your luggage up or down a flight of stairs to get to an elevator,..weird. Used the exercise room, dirty and small. Back to 'youths'...who ran unsupervised until very late, up and down the halls, lack of care by parents for other guests...Breakfast was good, many choices and all hot and fresh. Room clean enough but not crisp like I prefer. Checkout was a curt nod and no smile or 'how was your stay'. Probably won't stay here if given the chance again. If you need a bed and don't need anything else, you'll be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cntrymama_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear cntrymama_11,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the elevator and fitness room. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    91
    63
    18
    16
See reviews for
70
55
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was only here one night so I didn't use any amenities. Check in went well & staff was very friendly. There was a refrig & microwave in the room which was nice. The hotel layout is bit confusing but my room was very large, quite a bit larger than the Holiday Inn down the street (make sure you have the correct hotel as they are both on Broad). The hotel was very clean & I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Level Contributor
938 reviews
225 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Super efficient check-in and check-out, although the front staff weren't the friendliest (but I'll take efficiency over friendliness)...Decent breakfast spread and fast internet...rooms were typical 2 queen-size bed room similar to Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn...in the middle of downtown Athens, so within walking distance of restaurants and nightlife...Very satisfied

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

this hotel is located directly across the street from the projects ,when I opened my curtains people were looking in room from across street,and doing drugs in broad daylight,the first nite we were there a very scary looking drugged up lady was lying in hallway nxt to our room ,coughing n gurgling horrifically after awhile she left or went in a room was also charged 13 extra $ on debit card w/no explanation

Room Tip: if u stay mite want to get room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Shawn S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I attend AthFest every summer, and typically the Holiday Inn a couple blocks closer to downtown offers a package; however, this year the special rate was only available at this location. Parking's a breeze, the walk to town is convenient, and the gal who checked us in was super-friendly. The morning that we were departing, I had the pleasure of receiving friendly assistance from what appeared to be a manager, as I was having difficulty getting one of the vending machines to work; he was so nice and didn't charge me for what I needed to buy. The breakfast buffet line snaked all the way down the hallway, so I passed and scooted to the side for coffee (generic, nothing special, but it woke me up) and a banana. My husband chose to wait out the line, and his eggs were a little too slippery and goopy w/ cheese, but the other items that he plated were pretty tasty.

Now the room: I can see why people have been commenting about renovations going on (although I didn't witness any of it), b/c the rooms are showing definite signs of age-wear. Truthfully though, I wasn't expecting elegance; just a comfy place to sleep off a fun weekend of music, eating, drinking and walking around, and the room provided just that - a very, very comfy bed! My biggest complaint though was that the shower didn't drain at all, so after only a few minutes, my feet were submerged in a couple inches of grody water.

A few negatives aside, if this is the place that offers an AthFest package next year, I will gladly stay there again, for the convenience, the price, and most importantly their gracious, helpful, and outstanding customer service!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockLobster622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. The breakfast was good, the pool was clean and the rooms were well maintained. My only complaint is that the bathroom did not have a fan. In 100+ degree Georgia heat and humidity that is a must. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel under some construction, so made things a little difficult at times. Had long wait at check in due to one unruly customer in front of me. Picked hotel for its location and it did not disappoint. Clean comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Christopher K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see the cleanliness, and location of the hotel were highlights of your stay. It is unfortunate the behavior of other guests marred your experience.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.6 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Athens
Address: 513 West Broad St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing