We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a UGA conference!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location for a UGA conference!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I brought a delegation of students to the University of Georgia Model United Nations Conference in February (2013). We were very pleased with the location which was convenient to the university and to downtown Athens. The rooms were clean and had great amenities. The students appreciated the variety offered in the complementary breakfast. We look forward to coming back next year.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank craftshowtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    93
    67
    18
    16
See reviews for
74
55
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Was in town on business with several colleagues. Check in was smooth. But rooms, are so so. No Internet service in my room. No bar and poor breakfast service. This week I stayed at three hotels, the others were vey good - not this hotel. Front desk service was good, and that's all I can say!

Avoid this hotel if your need web access!

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I apologize if we were not able to meet your expectations on this day due to the internet and breakfast. I would like to talk to you further about what we can do to make up for your previous stay. If you would email me at andrew.jordan@hi-athens.com I would greatly appreciate it.

Again, I do apologize and regret that these things negatively impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Andrew Jordan
Holiday Inn Express
Athens GA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My experience in this hotel was okay. I never had any real problems with it, the staff courteous. The rooms were clean, but maybe just bit too small. The location of the hotel may have been the biggest problem as the view out of our window faced what seemed project housing community. The lobby was nice and as I mentioned so was the staff. There seemed to be some construction that was going on in the hotel as some of the halls were being painted thus the paint odor was in the air. The hotel layout was also a bit inefficient as my room was ways away from the lobby. I don’t want to knock on this hotel too much because the people were real helpful but at the end it was not that memorable. The room, the food was all good but I guess I just expected little bit more.

Room Tip: You want to ask about where your room is in relation from the lobby so you dont have to walk ways aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5feetofperfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear 5feetofperfection,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness and our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our location and the renovation. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petersfield.England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This is the second time staying at this hotel. Travelling over from the UK for our Annual pilgrimage to the 40 Watt club. This time we had our 2 son's with us so we had a room with 2 double beds. Fantastic amount of room for all 4 of us.Great room and service and value for money. We would specifically like to single out a young lady on reception "Amy" She went out of her way to provide us with great service and was always friendly and chatty with all of us..Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you, you made our 5 night stay a happy one. We are looking forward to our next visit later in the year :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyhels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, GA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel, and chose it for its proximity to downtown Athens and the great rate. Although I expected the hotel to be adequate, I was surprised to find how nice it was. We had a great stay and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRusCanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just finished a two week road trip looking for a new place to live. This was the first stop of many and turned out to be the best value for money on the whole trip. Big room, free wifi, nice bed, good breakfast... When you find a deal for one of these hotel chains it's your best bet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good looking place in the lobby, breakfast area and hallways. Room was excellent. Only one nick was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock. Not a big problem. I would go back. There's some low income housing next door but the parking was well lit and we felt fine.

Room Tip: Bright lights on the outside room, but the curtains took care of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
0.6 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Athens

Property: Holiday Inn Express Athens
Address: 513 W Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you re coming to Athens for business or pleasure let the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens be your home away from home. Travelers appreciate our corporate atmosphere and how we make comfort and convenience a top priority. Conveniently located off of I-65 at exit 351 and easily accessible to I-565 approximately 20 miles from Huntsville International Airport. (HSV) We are also located near TVA Brownsferry, Delphi, Steelcase, Federal Mogul and Athens State University.Each guest room is beautifully appointed and equipped with a microwave and fridge. Our guest rooms also have a large work space with ergonomic chairs. We are the perfect choice for business or leisure guests. Wireless and hard-wired Internet access is provided free of charge in all guestrooms and public areas. We offer an on-site cardio fitness room and on-site guest laundry for your convenience. We also have an in-door pool and hot tub for year round swimming.Start your day by enjoying our deluxe hot continental breakfast with a varied menu that can offer anything from cheese omelets, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs to a lighter fare such as yogurt, muffins, toast, or fruit. Don t forget to try our delicious cinnamon roll that you can only get from Holiday Inn Express. If you are in a rush in the morning, just ask for one of our convenient To-go Bags and cinnamon roll box.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Athens will be everything you expect and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Athens Hotel Athens
Holiday Inn Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing