We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
87
105
78
23
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
105
78
23
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsroom was cleanpancake makerfree breakfastnothing fancydowntown areaparking lot isan older propertyuga campusbroad ststaff was friendlywould definitely stay here againtwo night stayrooms are smallgreat roomlate checkpleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 312 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I just finished a two week road trip looking for a new place to live. This was the first stop of many and turned out to be the best value for money on the whole trip. Big room, free wifi, nice bed, good breakfast... When you find a deal for one of these hotel chains it's your best bet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bear F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Good looking place in the lobby, breakfast area and hallways. Room was excellent. Only one nick was that the bathroom door wouldn't lock. Not a big problem. I would go back. There's some low income housing next door but the parking was well lit and we felt fine.

Room Tip: Bright lights on the outside room, but the curtains took care of it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Great location to downtown. Friendly staff. Room smelled like chemicals and had stains all over the couch. Very easy to hear people above you. ****************************************************************************************************

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbr04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Athens, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear SaraB2004,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient and for the nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the cleaning agent used and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I found this hotel to be not bad in any way, no bad experiences, room was reasonably clean, staff real friendly, nice and helpful, parking was fairly convenient. Lobby was real nice, breakfast typical for HIE. A little off the beaten track but not too far from town. They were in the process of painting in the hallways but the disturbance was minimal and didn't affect my stay in the least. Odd building design, to get to the 3rd floor from the lobby, you went down stairs then up an elevator or simply walked up a ramp. My room was about as far as possible from the lobby as you can get (it says in my profile to book my room "away from elevators and vending / ice machines" and they sure did that!) Again, staff was great, price was right, breakfast average, room clean. No problems at all. Couldn't ask for more for a decent night's sleep while on the road for business.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk too far ask for a room closer to the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 32,331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Holiday Inn Express in Athens is in a great location for visiting UGA or downtown Athens. The hotel is older but was recently renovated a few years ago. The staff was wonderful to us during our 2 night stay.

Breakfast each morning was really filling and tasty. They offered a wide range of breakfast foods to please most everyone!

The rooms are on the small side with double beds instead of queens but there is a fridge, microwave and flat screen TV in the room which made it nice!

Enjoy your stay if you choose HIE in Athens!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flying4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews