We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2014

I was recently in Athens visiting a number of family members and decided it would just be easier to stay in a hotel. After looking on TripAdvisor I decided on the Holiday Inn, primarily because of location and price.
The hotel is located right downtown next to the entrance to the University of Georgia. It is one of 4 hotels right in the downtown. The location is perfect for going out in the evening for dinner and bar hopping and enjoying this city’s vibrant downtown nightlife. As I didn’t have a car staying in town was obviously the best choice.
I will agree with other postings that the hotel was laid out in a rather odd way. It’s clearly made up of three separate buildings that were constructed at different times. This wasn’t any kind of issue, just something I mention given that others posted about it. Also mentioned in other posts was the construction. Thankfully, when I was staying here the construction was nearly complete (with the exception of the pool area) so I ran into no issues around this.
It’s a nice hotel. Very much typical of a Holiday Inn. Not overly fancy or anything. The room in was in was located in the “Executive Tower.” It was quite large with a king size bed, sofa and desk area. It was well laid out and very clean. The bathroom was spacious.
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating. Check in was easy and friendly. I didn’t eat in the restaurant but I did spend a few hours in the bar over the week I was there. I wish I could recall the bartenders name. She was awesome, gracious, and a load of fun.
Also, I’ll mention that the price was very, very reasonable. Another reason I chose this over other downtown hotels. Given the length of my stay of a week the cost was a more importatnt consideration than it would have been for a shorter stay. (I had considered the Indigo as I’ve stayed in those in other cities and really enjoy them. The Holiday Inn was a bit less cost but my cousin had also told me that while the Indigo in Athens is a really nice, cool hotel it’s immediate neighborhood surroundings are a bit sketchy – especially as I had no car and was walking everywhere.)
I would definitely recommend the Holiday Athens.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crsofa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 344 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn in Athens. We stayed here during Masters week. Front desk staff was very pleasant and professional. The rooms were clean and neat. Hotel provides an adequate quick bite and coffee. Great restaurants and bars just blocks away. I will definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Very convenient for downtown Athens. Normal Holiday Inn standards, this hotel is quite old but kept in good shape, very clean and tidy. The breakfast could be better but I suppose you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear davefarnhill,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Again, thank you for your valuable insights. We hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel and hotel rooms were very clean. The hotel staff and very nice and accommodating. Will definitely stay here again next time I'm in Athens. I thought it very strange that there was no refrigerator or microwave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear DHungry,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our clean hotel. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff concerned.

I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Maybe I just had a good experience (like some people have bad experiences?) The front desk was professional even when inundated with 30 of us checking in at once. They did whatever they needed to do. I was upgraded to a suite and that was great. I saw construction but didn't experience any problems with it. I wished I'd stayed here for my whole trip. We only used the restaurant for breakfast and they seemed a little out of it. A little inexperienced. There was a buffet and the food was hot. I'd stay here again next time I'm in Athens.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerfromtheNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Troubled Stay in early March due to the construction mess and inconvenience. Hopefully, this will be finished soon. Had trouble accessing my room due to front desk mistake and parking was difficult to find. The restaurant/bar staff was friendly and they took good care of me. Location is great, downtown is just a block away with plenty of restaurants and shops. May return again, once the construction and remodeling project is finished. No complimentary breakfast, but plenty of nearby options including a Starbucks.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seriousworldwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear seriousworldwanderer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words intended for the restaurant and bar staff. On the other hand, let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. In addition, we are under going renovations to make your future stay more comfortable and pleasurable. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed a night here during a work-related trip and it was a very comfortable stay. Didn't interact much with the front desk but they seemed pleasant. Room was nice and the beds were very comfortable (A/C didn't seem to get too cool, but it was good enough). It is important to note that this hotel doesn't provide free breakfast, but the Holiday Inn express nearby does. However, there are a bunch of nice bars/restaurants within walking distance and the hotel itself has a restaurant which seemed to be packed with people, so I assume it was good. There is some construction going on on the hotel grounds, so parking was a little iffy. Overall, it was nice and I would recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Lola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shauna P, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Athens-University Area, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

To "Comfortable Stay,"

Thank you so much for taking to time to give us feedback on your stay! We're glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience, and that you enjoyed the time spent in our town and at our location. We apologize for any difficulties you may have had with the air conditioning and construction, and offer our sincerest regrets that we were unable to offer you breakfast. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
732 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
1.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens-University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens-University Area

Address: 197 E Broad St, Athens, GA 30601-2801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Price Range: $106 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Athens-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Hotel Athens. Located on the corner of Broad and Lumpkin Streets in downtown Athens hotel, travelers will appreciate the hometown feel of this historic city as well as the more than forty dining and lounge options nearby. We are also in easy walking distance from the University of Georgia and only a four-mile drive from Ben Epps Regional Airport.This Athens hotel has two on-site fitness facilities to help you maintain your exercise regimen. Enjoy a swim year-round in our indoor pool or relax in our hot tub. Catch up on work or browse the web in our complimentary business center. Our Ginkgo Tree Restaurant & Lounge serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, offering tasty Southern cuisine including breakfast and lunch buffets with multiple options. For your convenience, we offer in-room dining, or visit our lounge to unwind and experience our nightly drink specials.Our event space and outstanding services make Holiday Inn Hotel Athens the Preferred Meeting Place. Our superior meeting staff coordinates your successful event down to the last detail, which makes us the favorite wedding, conference, banquet, military, reunion, and convention planners in the area.Businesses near hotel: Carrier, Certainteed, Weyehaeuser, Eaton CorporationAttractions near hotel: The Classic Center, State Botanical Gardens, Sanford Stadium ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area Hotel Athens
Athens Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing