We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Athens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Athens
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallahassee, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very central location in Athens, Ga with easy access to everything. Very comfortable and clean rooms, great Free breakfast every morning, swimming pool, great and friendly staff from check in to room housekeepers. Will definitely stay here again in the future when in Athens. Recommend advance booking as they fill up almost every night!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Richard H, we appreciate your review! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in Athens, and that our team made your stay a comfortable one. I will be sure to pass your comments along to my fellow staff members. Should you need anything, be sure to give us a call! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    98
    56
    32
    23
See reviews for
105
65
35
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Ga., United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stay at the Best Western in Athens, Ga. probably 40 weeks a year. The owners and staff always take care of any issue I might have, which is seldom. They even try to book me in the same room as much as possible to give me a feeling of "home away from home". Mr. and Mrs. Moore, the owners, have become friends, not just someone that rents me a room for the week. Their son, Tripp, also makes sure I'm taken care of when I stay with them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the review Chuck. It has been fun getting to know you over the years, and we appreciate you being such a loyal guest as well as a member of the Best Western Rewards program. As always, let us know if you should need anything at all. I am sure we will be seeing you around the property as always! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Front desk clerk and housekeeper need to remember who signs their check. The front desk clerk was unhelpful and unfriendly. The housekeeper wanted to argue with me about my conversation with the front desk and the Best Western Reservation number.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I apologize for any inconveniences that you experienced during your stay Debra A. I have some notes that you were wanting to have a 1 P.M. checkout when our actual departure time is at 11 A.M. Your request was honored, however there seems to have been a communication error between the front desk and housekeeping. For that I do apologize. We hope to see you again in the future. 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Room was comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful in all ways, towels always available, close to everything, pool was awesome. Quiet and peaceful...plenty of relaxation...Great breakfast. Clean and fresh...bed was wonderful. Would recommend to everyone young and old alike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Carletta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
That is great to hear Carletta T! I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to serve you. We will see you soon! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is close to everything in Athens. It rained a lot - so we actually spent a good amount of our stay IN the hotel and we weren't lacking anything. The accommodations were comfortable; staff was friendly; pool was refreshing! We are planning on more trips to Athens and will most likely stay at the Best Western again as it had everything that we needed - and more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laundrymatt08022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for the contribution to our page LaundryMatt088022011! It sounds like you all had an excellent stay, despite the rain. Hopefully, it didn't ruin any big plans! Your review touches on what we aim to offer all guests- comfort, cleanliness, and outstanding customer service. We hope to see you and your family the next time your'e in town. Please call if you need anything! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We pulled in late and the place was packed. Started to drive out because we don't normally stay at BW's with outside entrances due to noise, but decided to talk to reception. The guy was fantastic! We got the last room and he offered us a reduced rate. Stayed in room 201 which was directly by the outside swimming pool entrance. This being a college town and it was packed, we were afraid there was going to be a lot of noise, but there was not! The noise was minimal even with kids going into and out of the swimming area. Our king room was clean, had a very comfortable bed and comforter, couch, microwave and fridge. Breakfast could have had a better selection.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I am glad you gave us the opportunity to serve you Robin H! The young man you talked to was Tripp, and I will be sure to share your review with him. Being a college town, Athens can be noisy from time to time during special event weekends. At our property, however, noise is not tolerated whatsoever. We go to great lengths to ensure that our guests have a pleasant stay in a crisp environment. Hope to see you soon! 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

have stayed for work more than once, and will return. Front desk staff is always helpful and makes me feel appreciated as a customer. They try to accommodate requests. Parking lot could be a little bigger, but rooms are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at BEST WESTERN Athens, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thrilled to hear that you have chosen us on more than one occasion Cameron W! We take pride in our service, and a response like yours couldn't make me happier! We hope to see you next time you are in Athens. Should you need anything, don't hesitate to call 706-546-7311.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Athens

Property: BEST WESTERN Athens
Address: 170 North Milledge Ave., Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the beautiful University of Georgia Campus and is a proud member of Coach Mark Richt's UGA Football Dawg family. The hotel is surrounded by Pre-Civil War Antebellum homes which now serve as boutique shops, as well as UGA sorority and fraternity houses. Conveniently located less than a mile away, you will find the Athens Downtown shopping area which includes musical night life, and award winning restaurants. For passing travelers, the Best Western motel is conveniently located located near 441 North and South, with a staff ready to assist with any traveling questions. Make sure to stop by the world-famous Varsity Restaurant located right across the street! Best Western Athens is pleased to announce that we are now under construction on our new tower that will sit just off of historic Milledge Avenue. With this project, we will become a Best Western Plus upon completion. In the tower, we will be adding 55 guest rooms that will be interior corridor and 100% smoke free. All guests will have access to a hot complimentary breakfast every morning- next to this breakfast area will be meeting space that can host all kinds of events from wedding parties to business meetings. Guests will also have access to a 600 square foot workout facility as well as a spa to relax in during their free time. All rooms come with free Wi-Fi of course, and access to a business center that can be utilized to print documents if necessary. The future looks bright for us here at Best Western Athens! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing