We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love to stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Athens
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Athens
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is my second time at the Best Western Athens. My daughter and I stayed for her UGA Orientation this summer and we are back to move her in for her first year at UGA. The staff has been so helpful with directions and great places to eat. I'm so glad that I have a place that I feel comfortable for the next four years. I will be back for parents weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 399 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'm in Athens on business two days a week and I've stayed here virtually every week for the past year. The front desk staff is wonderful and the management is terrific as well. Everyone involved with the hotel is pleasant and courteous and eager to please. The hotel is wonderfully located and a true bargain for the price. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Athens.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We are so pleased that you feel like this is "home-away-from-home" during your travels for work. Please let us know if you need anything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in May during the NCAA tennis tournament. Although not dirty, the rooms weren't clean and we felt the breakfast was lacking. We don't feel that this place is up to Best Western's standard. The shower wasn't very good and it was very noisy. Plus, the beds were horribly uncomfortable. The staff was nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Im am so sorry you encountered noise during your stay; we were extremely busy with several groups during that time period and they can be loud when arriving or leaving in a group setting. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Very nice and clean. No complaint.
Not the most luxurious I have been to, but really great price and clean made me happy.
I recommend if you need a place to stay.
Continental breakfast is really basic, but not bad.
Good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olympe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Best Western is a middle-of-the-road hotel. The furnishing are a little dated, but over all pretty clean. The matresses were old and not very comfortable, but the sheets were clean and nice and best of all there was no gross comforter to take off and throw on the floor.
The location was great, very close to the "old town" and close to the university, and it is much cheaper than some in the heart of downtown. There is plenty of parking. The breakfast is lacking and is very weak. Nothing more than some old baked goods and cheap cereal. A little fresh fruit and other grain options would be nice.
Overall not bad and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms i noticed on the ground floor would have car lights shining in the room when a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaronMIke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Our daughter was married at the Hardemann-Sams House, which is about a block away and walkable. So convenient for getting everything set up. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The staff and management were friendly and saw to our needs. We had several rooms blocked off and were placed close together as an added benefit. Would highly recommend the Best Western Athens.

Room Tip: Blocked rooms off in advance and specified downstairs and non smoking. We were in buikding nearest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

It was a pleasure helping your family with this special event. We are happy to hear that everything went so well! Congratulations!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Aging and it shows. Stayed over a football weekend and had a great time with the other guests. Expensive but you expect that on game days in Athens. Room was clean, bed was below average and water pressure in shower was just above a drip. There are better choices in Athens for similar $.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11045, Front Office Manager at Best Western Athens, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your response. You are correct about the rates being inflated throughout the town during football season, unfortunately it is a regular occurance thoughout the lodging, restaurant and nightclub scene. We would have been more than happy to fix the showerhead immediately if it had been reported during your stay. Please accept my apology and we hope that you return and use our accomodations again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
5.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#14 of 23 in Athens
90 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#4 of 23 in Athens
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Athens

Address: 170 N Milledge Ave, Corner of Broad St. and Milledge Ave., Athens, GA 30601-3802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#7 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $69 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Athens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Athens is conveniently located near the University of Georgia Campus. Only blocks away, you'll find our hotel surrounded by downtown shopping areas, nightlife,and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens Hotel Athens
Best Western Colonial Hotel
Athens Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing