We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mama's Boy A Hit with the entire Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama's Boy

Mama's Boy
Ranked #1 of 413 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mama's Boy A Hit with the entire Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Mama's Boy has it all - great brunch items, family atmosphere, and bang for the buck. I had one of the breakfast platters and it was more than enough with the huge biscuits and jelly. Lots of friendly faces and helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaHudson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    130
    46
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yuck!!!!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I know the rule in GA.... No bare hands on foods... Yet the staff here don't seem to care... They touch, finger, and manipulate your food with filthy hands.... Wiping their wet hoppy hands onto soiled wet food debris encrusted rags.... Yummy!!!! I love filth brig introduced to my food.....

I may go back.... That is if I want Norivirus or some fecal bacteria such as Shigella

Just wash your hands and use gloves or utensils.... Quit cutting cirners

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oakleybadoakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great brunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I went with a friend and we split the French toast appetizer and it was delicious! The nuts and cream it came with where Devine! I got the salmon cakes eggs Benedict for my meal and it was an awesome and favorfull twist on one of my favorites! The eggs were cooked perfectly. Topped with an awesome hollandaise sauce and capers (which I normally don't like but they definitely worked here). They came with a side of greens and a biscuit (love their jam!). It was a great day! Left there stuffed! Great service. Very knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orange9753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just didn't get it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Perhaps, it was the flounder sandwich special which led me to be disappointed. It was busy and parking was limited on a Monday at noon. The service was entertaining, well informed, fine and prompt. Maybe another day and a different meal will cause me to rethink my opinion though there are numerous other choices that appeal to me. Given another visit I may change my mind but for now it seems Mama's Boy is thriving on hype not on good food.

Others with me enjoyed it more and had no complaint.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Centerfield3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I love this restaurant. They have good juices and all their food was good! They won me over with the york peppermint patty after breakfast.
good atmosphere and good food! Not much more to say! Oh, except you might wanna get there early during football season!! Busy busy busy!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missmollyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama's Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing