We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location with some extras!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent location with some extras!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have stayed here many times since my son is a student at the University of Georgia. We love the great location which makes all restaurants and shopping in downtown Athens within easy walking distance. It is also very conveniently located for just walking around campus.

Check in has always been efficient and quick. I love the warm cookies (many varieties) and fresh fruit offerings each day at the front desk area. I also appreciate the coffee urns which provide free coffee to all guests so you don't have to deal with the small coffee maker in your room. I am glad that there is a parking garage at the hotel (wish it was free instead of being added onto the room fee) since parking in Athens can be somewhat challenging. It does get a little crazy however when the big buses pull into the hotel temporarily blocking access to the garage entrance.

As for the rooms: I personally am not a big fan of the heavy blanket on the bed. I tend to always bring a lighter blanket when I stay at this hotel. The room was clean which is always a huge plus!. A few negatives though were associated with our last visit. The AC/heat unit was hard to adjust on our last visit. This could have been due to the quickly changing outside temperatures during our stay last week. We had a room which faced downtown instead of our usual view on the side of the Classic center. Although we were on the 7th floor, we did find it very noisy at night due to the music blaring from the numerous bars on the street below. We also had trouble with locating the television channels. Although there was a card on our nightstand, none of the channels lined up with the listed ones. It was quite annoying to repeatedly get static when trying to locate the channels posted on the card.

This hotel is very popular because of location and service. It sometimes is impossible to get a reservation. My advice is to plan well in advance if this is your hotel of choice when staying in Athens.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing downtown and opt instead for those facing the Classic Center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Ellynn B,

We would like to thank you for taking your time to write such a detailed review of our hotel. We always try to accommodate requests on reservations, just leave us a note in the comment section you would like to face the Classic Center or on certain floors. We just recently went over to HD with a whole new tv listing, including new channels. We thanks you again for your time and we hope to see you again in Athens!

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    183
    75
    24
    10
See reviews for
185
118
23
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here one night for the Georgia Spring G-Day Game and enjoyed it. We stayed in a 2 Queen Room with 2 adults and 2 children. The beds were extremely comfortable and having a mini-fridge and microwave in the room was great. Our room looked down onto the Classic Center and was quiet. Parking is self parking in their garage with a parking pass and your room key. We had breakfast included in our rate and enjoyed the service from the staff. You could pick up your own cereal, fruit, yogurt and juices at a breakfast bar and a server took your hot breakfast order (french toast, omelettes, pancakes, etc). Servers also delivered coffee. We enjoyed the stay and will book again next time in Athens. Proximity to walking to downtown restaurants and North Campus is a MAJOR plus!

Room Tip: Get breakfast added in your rate as it's $10/person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA_Dawg_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear VA_Dawg_4,

Thank you for staying with us during the G-day game and your wonderful review of the Hilton Garden Inn Downtown Athens. We are glad we were able to WOW you and hope to see you all again for this upcoming football season!


Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed here several times and each time has been awesome. Clean rooms, great location to the Classic Center, breakfast was good, warm cookies at the front desk was AWESOME! Staff was helpful and courteous. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn traveler,

We are grateful for your positive comments and experience of our hotel and thank you for being our guest during your time in Athens. We work hard to provide the best service from the front desk at check-in to serving you at the bar and restaurant. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Upon check in the hotel staff was extremely friendly and efficient. Later that evening I experienced the same courtesy and efficiency in the Bar. When I return to Athens, I will be staying here again. The close proximity to restaurants and the University make this a very convenient place to base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn guest,

Thank your for your kind comments of the hotel and its staff. We always strive to wow our guests and give you all the friendliest and caring service each and every single time. It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us during your next time in Athens!

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here this week while on a college tour trip with our son. I selected the hotel based on reviews and I was not at all disappointed. The location of the hotel cannot be beat. You are directly across from the campus and right in the middle of downtown where a number of restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance. There was even an outstanding bagel place around the corner which made their own bagels. The staff was hospitable, the room was clean and the condition of furnishings was fresh. And yes, the cookies and fresh fruit offered in the lobby were a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again if my son attends UGA. I gave it a lower rating for sleep because of the in-room ac that goes on and off and kept me awake - the bedding was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86Nole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 86nole,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We always strive to give all of our guests a good night's sleep and we really do apologize about your HVAC noise. Our HVAC units are motion-sensored and will cut on when there is movement and cut off when there is not movement and that may have been the reason your unit goes on and off. Let us know the next time you are in Athens and we can set your HVAC to your liking. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you all next time!


Sincerely,


Pam Donnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice Location and a nice HGI other than that I travel too much for work to be significatly impressed that anything was that good or that bad. This is a great spot for access to the college, downtowna and the area in general. The hotel is one of the nicer ones in the HGI chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staying with us during business. Our location is convenient to most restaurants, bars and other activities downtown. We look forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Downtown and close to U of Georgia campus.
Covered parking was nice.
limited menu for dinner in their resturant.
Area surrounded by bar after bar after drinking establishments. I guess whatelse to expect that close to campus. Did find FishBox 1 seafoos 1 block down Thomas st.
More food choices out west from downtown on Broad in the area of the mall and shopping areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TexasSkyPilot,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and choosing to stay with us during your business. Athens, GA is known for having the most bars per square miles in the United States, but it does give you access to numerous restaurants from chains to locally owned stores.
Our Garden Grille menu is limited per Hilton requirements. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we hope to be your choice again for any future stays in Athens, GA.

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing