We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, United States
2 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed here several times and each time has been awesome. Clean rooms, great location to the Classic Center, breakfast was good, warm cookies at the front desk was AWESOME! Staff was helpful and courteous. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Gregg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn traveler,

We are grateful for your positive comments and experience of our hotel and thank you for being our guest during your time in Athens. We work hard to provide the best service from the front desk at check-in to serving you at the bar and restaurant. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    183
    75
    24
    10
See reviews for
185
118
23
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Upon check in the hotel staff was extremely friendly and efficient. Later that evening I experienced the same courtesy and efficiency in the Bar. When I return to Athens, I will be staying here again. The close proximity to restaurants and the University make this a very convenient place to base.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn guest,

Thank your for your kind comments of the hotel and its staff. We always strive to wow our guests and give you all the friendliest and caring service each and every single time. It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us during your next time in Athens!

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here this week while on a college tour trip with our son. I selected the hotel based on reviews and I was not at all disappointed. The location of the hotel cannot be beat. You are directly across from the campus and right in the middle of downtown where a number of restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance. There was even an outstanding bagel place around the corner which made their own bagels. The staff was hospitable, the room was clean and the condition of furnishings was fresh. And yes, the cookies and fresh fruit offered in the lobby were a nice touch. I would definitely stay here again if my son attends UGA. I gave it a lower rating for sleep because of the in-room ac that goes on and off and kept me awake - the bedding was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 86Nole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 86nole,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We always strive to give all of our guests a good night's sleep and we really do apologize about your HVAC noise. Our HVAC units are motion-sensored and will cut on when there is movement and cut off when there is not movement and that may have been the reason your unit goes on and off. Let us know the next time you are in Athens and we can set your HVAC to your liking. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you all next time!


Sincerely,


Pam Donnan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very nice Location and a nice HGI other than that I travel too much for work to be significatly impressed that anything was that good or that bad. This is a great spot for access to the college, downtowna and the area in general. The hotel is one of the nicer ones in the HGI chain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Hilton Garden Inn guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and staying with us during business. Our location is convenient to most restaurants, bars and other activities downtown. We look forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Downtown and close to U of Georgia campus.
Covered parking was nice.
limited menu for dinner in their resturant.
Area surrounded by bar after bar after drinking establishments. I guess whatelse to expect that close to campus. Did find FishBox 1 seafoos 1 block down Thomas st.
More food choices out west from downtown on Broad in the area of the mall and shopping areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSkyPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TexasSkyPilot,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and choosing to stay with us during your business. Athens, GA is known for having the most bars per square miles in the United States, but it does give you access to numerous restaurants from chains to locally owned stores.
Our Garden Grille menu is limited per Hilton requirements. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we hope to be your choice again for any future stays in Athens, GA.

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My daughter and I made our first trip to Athens to visit the University of Georgia at the end of March. What a great little town with wonderful shops and restaurants. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Athens within walking distance to UGA. Location is what makes it attractive. Staff members were pleasant and friendly. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. There is a $9 daily parking charge added to your bill. Other than it's location, it is pretty generic. I would probably look at other options if we return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwethereyet60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear rwethereyet60,

We want to thank for staying with us during your first visit to Athens and taking the time to write a review of our hotel. One of the many attractive features of our hotel is our close proximity to restaurants and the main downtown area. We always try to make every visit warm and pleasant.
Being located directly downtown, parking is limited and we only have the choice of a parking deck. The daily parking fee is charged to maintain the parking structure and to have a place for all of our guests to have a secured place to park when they stay with us so they do not have to park on public street parking spots. Again, we would like to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel.


Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I arrived for a conference from out of town at 7:30 AM. I was initially told that I would have to wait to check-in at 2:00 PM! I kept checking back just on the whim that a room might become available earlier than 2:00. When I inquired about the room at 1:45, I was then told by the General Manager that I would have to wait until 3:00PM. After I told the GM, that I personally knew someone that checked in at 11:30AM,(which was not a fib, a co-worker was allowed to do so), she stated with a condescending attitude, "Well, check-in isn't until 3:00PM, but I will see what we can do". After disappearing into her office for about 5 minutes, she put me into a room. I don't understand why I had to wait to check-in when there were clearly rooms available prior to the time I was told I could check-in, not to mention that others were allowed to check-in PRIOR to the 2:00PM time frame I was offered. If you have a policy of 3:00pm check-ins, make sure that you follow suit for EVERYONE checking in on the same day. Additionally, since this was the conference hotel, accommodations should have been made for those attendees who traveled from out of town to check-in early. I stay at other chain hotels all the time and have checked in prior to check-in time because they want to keep my business.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Tanishia L,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel during your conference stay. We would like to apologize for the poor service you received from the front desk. The hotel checkout time is 11:00 am and if you arrive earlier than that, the availability for an early check in time is not guaranteed. Guests start checking out around 11:00am and depending on if the hotel was booked the night before determines if any rooms are available and cleaned. Hotel check-in time is 3:00pm. The 4 hour time frame is to allow housekeeping to get into the rooms and clean them for arriving guests.

We are located right across from the Classic Center, which makes us ideal for any conference attendees. I am very sorry we were not able to check you in early and rooms were not available then. We always strive to give the utmost caring service to all of our guests and we failed in doing that for you. We apologize again and thank you for your time to review our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam Doonan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 23 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing