We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but not great and pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
727 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Very good but not great and pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is a very nice property in a good location in Athens. You are within 2-3 blocks of a dozen great restaurants and the hotel is nice and clean. You have to pay $10/night for parking which never excites me. I actually stayed on 2 separate occasions in the same week. The first night, the a/c in the room was very loud and woke me up several times when it cut on. I arrived late and the remote did not work either. No big deal really but I had to get that addressed before I could settle in. I did not complain about the a/c because I was in a hurry when I left. The second night (later in the week, different room) was much quieter. Between room rate, taxes and parking, I paid $200 for the 2nd night. The Hampton a few miles outside downtown is almost half as much and though not as nice, is arguably a much better deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    181
    73
    24
    9
See reviews for
180
118
23
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
223 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here several times on our way home to Tallahassee from Pennsylvania. The hotel is clean and comfortable with excellent parking for hotel guests. It is a short walk to Broad Street with its many restaurants and bars on the edge of campus. When the University is in session the town is alive with interesting students.

RGinTally

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Located in walking distance of everything in downtown Athens, our family stayed here one night while we checked out the town. Very clean, comfortable hotel, good beds and great breakfast and bar(had some excellent local draft brews, Terrapin Brewery I think). Nice indoor pool. Friendly staff. Just a very cool hotel, one of the 2 best of our week long road trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very nice hotel in a great location! Walking distance to the UGA campus and downtown area. Rooms were very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable and our hall was very quiet. The breakfast was the best I have ever had!! The grits and waffles were superb and the diningroom staff was so friendly. Can't wait to stay again soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagle19862015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

We, along with most of the family & wedding party, stayed at the the Hilton Garden Inn for our nephew's wedding in Sept 2011. Since the bride & groom were alumni of UGA they decided to have both the wedding and reception on campus. Hotel was very convenient for this, reception was right across the street. Rooms were clean and comfortble and the hotel reception area was a great place for everyone to sit and visit together. This was our first visit to Athens and we loved it here! We'd like to come back some time and would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vmcglincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here during the weekend using Hilton Honors Points. The hotel is in a great location. There are dozens of restaurants, nightclubs, and bars within a few blocks and the North Campus of UGA is only two blocks away. The rooms were very clean and good sized. I forgot my toiletries bag; the staff provided a complimentary toothbrush, razor and shaving cream. The rooms have a microwave and mini-frig and there is a 24 hours pantry next to the front desk for drinks and snacks. Rooms were quiet.

We didn't eat on site as there as so many good restaurants within walking distance. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawtygrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

What UGA graduate does not long to return to the Classic City each and every opportunity afforded? When our daughter and her husband chose to say "I Do" in January of this year, there was only one choice for the nuptials---Athens, GA. After a six year courtship, the newlyweds desired to have their guests feel as if they were at home throughout the busyness of the wedding weekend, and HGI's Classic City property served as a conduit to bring family and friends together to celebrate. This property is ideal for "all things Athens." Its location is accessible to everything downtown. The staff is beyond top-notch and manager Pam Doonan as well as Kim Barnett, Director of Sales, are two ladies who do business with passion and compassion for "all things right!" HGI has a crown jewel in Athens and it is because of the leadership at the top that each and every individual working there feels as if he or she makes a difference in memories for guests. From housekeeping to a stellar staff in the kitchen to maintenance to behind closed doors in administrative services, this hotel has it all. How they do what they do to meet the needs for whatever the occasion, is beyond me, but they do it and they do it superbly!

Susie Broadhead
Meridian, Mississippi

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top and see all of Athens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
0.3 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#5 of 22 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
Address: 390 E Washington St, Athens, GA 30601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Classic Center, Athens primary meeting/concert venue. Walking distance to over 75 unique eateries and pubs in a very quaint setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown Hotel Athens
Hilton Athens
Athens Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing