We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Athens
atlanta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice, very clean!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Check in 9:30 pm with a very friendly attendant. I was very pleased with her attitude to assisting us! The room was very clean. The only real complaint there was you could see patchwork that had been completed in the ceiling. This did not bother us. Carpet was clean & beds were very comfortable. We stayed in 402 (2 Queen & Sofa). Upon check out the gentleman that helped us again was very nice! No problems with staff at all. Everyone was very accommodating.

Breakfast is just the normal pastries, egg patties, boiled eggs, bagels, waffles & yogurt. Nothing special. The weekend hours are not late enough. We wanted to sleep in but breakfast was over by 9:30.

The walls are fairly thin. We could hear all of the people running through the hallways. Also, talking loudly. We didn't complain so I am not sure if they would have warned the people or not.

Hotel is about 2-3 miles from downtown & the only restaurant local is an overpriced Hardee's.

The 2 night weekend stay was really not bad at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzanne326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    101
    49
    23
    27
See reviews for
158
48
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The manager was rude and unprofessional from check in.I have never stayed in a hotel where they refuse to provide you with fresh wash cloths and towels the next morning.The breakfast was just ok. We had to go and get the front desk to refill the waffle syrup and other things.I would definitely not refer anyone to this hotel.Housekeeping had better customer relation skills than the customer service

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byronna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of our hotel and services
According to our research, you were in town for a wedding party and that we had quoted a rate based on a double occupancy per night, Our front desk agent who was working that evenign was trying to establish howe many people were staying in each room so that we could ensure that we had an adequate supply of towel etc, We would have gladly supplied more towels etc had you staed there were extra people in the room who were not paying the rate we quoted. With closer to 5 people per room it is not surprising that you needed additional sheets and towels.

We appreciate your feedback but we feel that we need to give both sides of the story in this matter
We pride ourselves on offering great lodging value for money and we want our guests to feel that we can exceed their expectations so long as they are honest in their use of our services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Level Contributor
132 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

To start with, this hotel is not downtown. I'll check the map instead of falling for another deceptive title. Walls here are paper thin and yesterdays biscuits shouldn't be served today. By 10:00PM on my first night I'd decided this would be my last night here. At 4:30AM while listening to the neighbors discuss their upcoming day I couldn't wait to leave. The manager here is one of the worst I've encountered, rude, unhelpful and unprofessional. Of the hundreds of nights this year I've spent in Choice Hotels, the Natchitoches, LA Quality Inn is the worst. This place is a close second. Irina was a bright spot in an otherwise dreadful stay. I fully expect to read a response below soon that claims "we're in walking distance to downtown" and "I'm sorry your stay was unsatisfactory". I should have read all the negative comments about the management here. Don't fall for these halfazz attempts at customer relations by believing their responses. The time to take care of your guests is while they're in your establishment, not a futile attempt after they've told the world of your inability to run a hotel. I didn't take a towel, pillow or damage a bedspread so don't try to silence this review by adding bogus charges as it appears you have in the past. This Diamond member will never set foot in this place again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent reviwew of our hotel . We welcome your feedback and do not attempt to use this forum to change your opinion of our location and the lodging value that we have to offer here in Athens. We do not mislead our guests about our downtown location as this information is correct and is alo validated by our franchise and by our local convention and visitors bureau, I am sorry that you found the noise level to be unacceptable from our fellow guests: this happens and we do our best to ask our fellow guests to be considerate if they plan to be up late in the wee small hours.
As you can see from our other guest reviews on tripadvisor, most of our guests have enjoyed their stay, location and value for money,. Hopefully, you will reconsider us for a future trip to Athens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was very fortunate to stay in this property while in Athens on business.
It's location is a little hard to find but the effort is worth it. The property is very clean and well decorated. The dest staff is very curtious and friendly. They always spoke to me when I passed thru the lobby. Check in and check out were both pleasant. The room was clean, well furnished, bath was well stocked with towels and toiletries. Housekeeping staff did a great job, other than missing the trash once they kept the room spic and span.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for posting your recnt review of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback and that you find us to be a great lodging value for Downtown Athens . We look forward to having the opportunirty to host you and your family again when you are back in Athens

We are located at exit 11b of loop 10, less than 1 mile from downtown on North Avenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Comfort Suites provided a nice resting place while visting UGA as a prospective student. Check-in was smooth. Room spacious, clean and well appointed. Great dinner recommendation. Nice breakfast area and appropriate lobby for hotel. Would stay again, for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scgalinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on offering a great price for a great location close to UGA and the Classic Center

We inderstand that you have choices in the Athens market but very few can match our lodging value for money here in Athens

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurinburg, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We spent one night here in May. We booked two rooms at the last minute. We were a bit afraid of what we would find due to the ow cost and boy were we impressed! Nice clean rooms, friendly and courteous staff, a great place to get a quite night's rest.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaTraveler2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed here one night. Over all is was average, but not a great pick for me since I was traveling alone with no car. If you plan to go downtown or visit the UGA campus it's a 30 min walk. The staff was a little ignorant and not very helpful. Worst of all the room not very clean and the elevator was working very slowly and weird.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Address: 255 North Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2279 (Formerly Comfort Suites Downtown Athens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Athens Hotel Athens
Comfort Suites Athens
Athens Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing