We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite hotel, five years and counting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Forsyth, Georgia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Favorite hotel, five years and counting”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Every summer, I spend a week in Athens and look forward to my stay here every year. The staff has been accommodating to my needs as well as problems in the room. I have yet to have a bad experience. My family usually joins me for a day or so and my kids love the pool and the huge rooms!

Great lobby with computers for guests. The breakfast bar has a great selection of foods for all tastes. The decor is warm and inviting throughout.

I agree with others that it is a stretch to say this hotel is in walking distance. It remains a convenient location, close to downtown but away from the nightlife. And on that note, I've never experienced any issues with people from the liquor store. In fact, the store is clean and well kept by all accounts that I can tell.

I think for the services offered, the price here is always right and with the convenient location, I expect I'll be back again.

Room Tip: I've stayed throughout the hotel and prefer the upper floors facing away from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedipastorken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and your loyalty to Choice Hotels and our location. We offer great lodging value while being in downtown athens and the UGA campus without havinfg to pay the high downtown hotel prices
We include an all suite product and a complimentary full hot breakfast along with free parking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    113
    49
    24
    27
See reviews for
167
50
19
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Indoor pool was free entertainment for kids. Property in good shape. Early check-in with absolutely no problem. Room in very good shape and quite clean. Outstanding value for money and will absolutely return.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGM5171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Than you for sharing your comments on our hotel with Tripadvisor, We appreciate your honest feedback and that we offer a superior lodging experiece without having to pay the full service hotel prices. We include a free full hot breakfast and complimentary parking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My family stayed one night at this hotel while we were in town for a wedding reception. We arrived about 15 minutes before check-in time, but after a little confusion at the front desk as to whether our room was clean and ready, we were able to check in early. We were provided a portable crib as I requested. The room was hot but the staff member who placed the crib in our room told me that she had already adjusted the thermostat and it soon became comfortable.

I would say that the room was average; not fancy but not totally outdated decor either. We did a clump of hair in the bathroom floor that the maid apparently missed, which was kind of gross but not horrifying. I did use the shower but my husband said that the water pressure wasn't great. I personally found the mattress too hard and the pillows too soft but my husband and child slept well. We did not take advantage of any of the amenities, having spent most of the day out and gotten up too late the next day to eat the breakfast. Really it was just a convenient place to sleep rather than traveling back home.

There is a liquor store right next door/in front but I didn't feel unsafe or experience any additional noise because of it. It would be nice if the parking lot was better lit, especially when you get back to the hotel later in the evening and have to park in the very back of the lot. There also seems to be confusion in the reviews as to whether the hotel is downtown or not. I lived in Athens for several years and am very familiar with the downtown area. The hotel is definitely NOT downtown as any local would think of it, although apparently somebody thought it was close enough to include in the name. It is within walking distance of downtown -- I would say maybe 1/2 to 3/4 of a mile -- but part of that is uphill and would not be that pleasant of a walk, in my opinion. Still, the rate is very reasonable and you will pay significantly more if you prefer to stay directly downtown.

The staff we encountered were very friendly and overall it was a fine stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViriD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments regardin your stay and that iour staff went out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Upon my arrival at the hotel, I asked the young lady at the front desk where was the laundrey room, she told me she wasn't certain if it was on the second or third floor. She didn't even attempt to try and find out where it was located. I found ths to be vrey odd and thought this was part of her job. I inquired several other times and she finally told me probably the second floor. Theroom was clean,but was unable to get the room cool the first night. Tempature stayed at 74 degrees and I was pretty miserable. The next day I mentioned it to the housekeeping staff and they immediately came in my room and told me that it was fixed. When I got back to the room the temp was on 72 degrees. I told the young lady from the previous night it was still hot in my roo ad I would not be able to sleep there. The young lady said she would go up and check it. I lft an came back about an hour later and she told me, that she had fixed it and the other girl didn't know wht she was doing and it would take the room a couple of hours to cool down. Well it never did,and I got very litle sleep. The next moning while ceckin out I mentioned it to the manager and he gave me 15% off my bill. Small price for two sleepless nights. The housekeeping staff was awesome,but the front desk girl left something to be desired. Wierd looking people at the ABC store which is directly in fron tof the hotel. I

Room Tip: Room away from elevaor was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissDeb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel! This was my first trip to Athens and I stayed at this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend. I must say that I was definitely pleased! The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the room was very clean! I had never stayed at a hotel with an indoor pool; loved it! Thank God for the breakfast! That's a great way to start the day and was just what I needed. I will definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madf_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Friendly staff. Old carpet in room. Hot part of breakfast was only sausage, biscuits and gravy. Reasonable price but don't go there when there is a home game for UGA. Night before our Sunday stay rates were $250!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HSTAsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor

My apologies for the condition of your room-I have passed on your comments regarding the breakfast and room condiotnn

We acknowledge that during UGA Home games in Athens, the market charges from $250.00 per night, so unless you are in town for the home game it is good to check ahead on the UGA schedule to avoid these dates in Athens

thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Please do not stay at this hotel. First of all, it is NOT in walking distance to downtown athens and the UGA campus. It is located directly behind a liquor store which attracts the local "night life" all throughout the night. When we arrived, the room was not clean. The toilets had mold around the rim and the sheets had visible hair on them. This only begins the nightmare. I requested a late check out and the manager was reluctant to grant the request. He finally did, but the housekeeper showed up at 8:30 asking to clean the room. We informed her that we had a late checkout and would leave at 11:30. This did not stop her, she showed up every 30 minutes banging on the door. When I finally checked out, I though all was well only to learn 3 days later they posted another charge on my card in addition to the room fee. I called the hotel manger (Mr. Singh) and he told me I had taken some items from the hotel. I tried to explain to him the items were never placed in our room on our 2nd night stay. He was extremely rude and refused to give me the number in order to file a complaint. Mr. Singh told me that it didn't matter if I called customer relations because they would not do anything anyway. He hung up the phone on me several times and then diverted my calls to the answering machine. I finally contacted customer relations for choice hotels and was told this matter would be handled. It was not!! They told me I would have to speak with the hotel manager in order to resolve the issue. Of course he will not take my calls or refund my money. It is truly not worth the few dollars that you save because they get you in the end. I will definitley be staying at the Holiday Innn Express on my next visit. The service at the Holiday Inn Express is wonderful and they really are in walking distance to the UGA campus and downtown Athens. Please do not stay at the Comfort Suties Inn on North Ave. ever!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfort100, Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Rochele

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor

I have spoken with Mr. Singh, the owner, regarding your situation. There are always two sides to a story and we do not intend to offer any false advertising as to our service and location

The items in question were towels taken from the room, which we check on a daily basis to meet our service levels equal to the Holiday Inn

We are within walking distance of downtown athens and we are rated as such with our Franchise as well as with the Athens Convention and Visitors Bureau

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you will give us the opporunity to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Athens hotels
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Athens
0.8 mi away
Graduate Athens
Graduate Athens
#1 of 23 in Athens
678 reviews
3.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Athens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Athens-University Area
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Athens Downtown
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Athens
Hampton Inn Athens
#3 of 23 in Athens
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown
Address: 255 North Ave, Athens, GA 30601-2279 (Formerly Comfort Suites Downtown Athens)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Athens
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Athens
#7 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Athens Near Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown Athens Hotel Athens
Comfort Suites Athens
Athens Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing