We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relaxing”

State Botanical Garden of Georgia
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 313-acre preserve is used by the University of Georgia as a horticulture laboratory and is open to the public.
Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice and relaxing”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Having lived in Athens for 4 years now, the gardens are a great place to relax. I come here to walk or run the trails. They have several great trails of varing lengths, if your a trail runner I reccommend this place for training. A pro and con... no pets allowed... so its nice not to worry about the mess from lazy owners or unleashed dogs running about but its sad that you can't run with your well trained dog here. You do have to keep in mind depending on your visit... Georgia does have very hot summers which can damage the plants, as well as, droughts leading to a decrease in the apprence of the gardens.. take this in to account if your visit is in the middle of 90 degree weather.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    98
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
297 reviews
211 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Nicely Landscaped, but Not Filled With Plants”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Pros: The landscaping was well done, and the few gardens did have nicely arranged flowers.

Cons: Many plants were dead or dying, although I will admit it was hot. For all the landscaping there were not too many gardens.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RoapTripper3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Botanical Gardens are beautiful and spacious. There is a visitor's center with several plants in an atrium, but the treasure is the expansive, tiered garden behind the center.

If you are traveling with small children your path may be limited (several areas are laced with stairs), so either be prepared to carry youngsters or ferry strollers up and down stairs.

There are several trails that lead back into the wooded area of the gardens, which is a nice place to venture (particularly when it is hot outside), and overall it is a good place to stop by if you want to see a wide variety of trees, flowers, and herbs (Stop by the herb garden, it smells fantastic!).

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Happygoluckyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful any time of the year”
Reviewed December 1, 2008

As a native Floridian, one of the things I missed out on growing up was seasons. This sounds ridiculous to anyone who didn't grow up in Florida, but in the Sunshine State we truly see almost no different from Summer to Fall, Winter to Spring. Leaves don't change, the temperature doesn't drop nearly as much as it does elsewhere, and it certainly doesn't snow. So when I moved to Georgia for school, one of the biggest changes for me was the color of the leaves. My friends make fun of me, but every year when the leaves start to change and it's really "fall," I get unnecessarily excited. Without fail, every year, I get a secret thrill out of the true transition into the new season.

Last week I went out to the State Botanical Gardens of Georgia to see the beauty of the changing leaves. Many people may stay away from the gardens at this time of year since it's a little cold to be out and about, but I thought it was perfect.

The Garden is located approximately three miles south of the University of Georgia campus. Founded in 1968, it now encompasses more than 300 acres, much of which borders the Middle Oconee River. The Garden contains a number of speciality gardens, special collections, and a tropical conservatory which together feature a broad array of both native and exotic plant species. More than five miles of nature trails traverse the natural areas of the Garden where small populations of wildlife, particularly birds, can be observed.

I would definitely recommend visiting this unique garden next time you're in Athens. Visitors should check out the Visitor Center, Cafe Trumps (which is actually closed until 2009 for renovation), and the Garden Gift Shop.

For more information, visit: http://www.uga.edu/botgarden/

Helpful?
Thank BulldogGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to see in the spring”
Reviewed April 24, 2008

If you're in Athens, and like plants and the outdoors, this is a nice experience not to be missed. Very educational, informative, and well-maintained in spite of the current water situation in Georgia, although the fountains were all turned off.

Helpful?
Thank jbh436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed State Botanical Garden of Georgia also viewed

 

Been to State Botanical Garden of Georgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing