We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I never miss this when I go thru Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grit

The Grit
Ranked #11 of 413 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I never miss this when I go thru Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Unique and delicious Today I had. Curry spinach and lentil over rice, collards and cheese grits, split pea dal, golden bowl tofu, amaretto peach pie, and vegan brownie to go. Age of Aquarius(5th Dimension) from 1969 and kids with long hair and laid back attitudes. Heaven for a sixty something hippie! Ill be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blessedman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    100
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Grit-nough said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The golden bowl is my go to favorite. Dahl and cornbread holds a close second. Quirky art on the walls. An Athens original.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yogiprasanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As good as it used to be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

When I lived in Athens, I ate here all the time, and was excited to finally go back! Not much has changed, and that's a good thing. The Grit does one thing [vegetarian/vegan cuisine] and they do it right. My fiance is a meat-eater and fairly picky, and he thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. He had the grilled cheese [which I have had as well- best anywhere], and I had a veggie quesadilla with black bean chili. For the low prices, you get quite a bit of food! I would recommend any of the quesadillas, the nachos, the burrito, the pasta dish, the grilled cheese, and the bagels! The desserts are great as well, and if it's cold outside, try the hot chocolate. I will say the service could be a bit friendlier, but that is my only criticism.
--If you like the restaurant as much as I do, you can purchase their cookbook online! It's worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katieanddougie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for vegetarian lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant may not be for everyone, but I love places like this; unpretentious with great food and nice wait staff. Eating with a carnivore, a vegan, and a low-fat eating vegetarian, we all found items that we enjoyed on the menu. They even gave me a small side of stir fried vegies with my bagel sandwich when I requested it. The decaf was excellent as well, and the homemade biscuits are yummy. My only complaint was the fruit cup. The fruit was still on the rind, which looked nice but wasn't easy to eat, and the melon was underripe and tasteless.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klipmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wow! From a confirmed meat eater.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I have never deliberately eaten veggie food before, but REALLY enjoyed this meal. I had the Indian Platter special. Absolutely fantastic, and will definitely eat here again next time I am in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jellyf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grit also viewed

 

Been to The Grit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing