We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodating for my food allergies”
Review of Five & Ten

Five & Ten
Ranked #30 of 415 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: James Beard Award-winning neighborhood restaurant in Five Points. Serving dinner and Sunday brunch in a beautifully restored historic house. Five & Ten is the flagship restaurant of Chef Hugh Acheson. Since opening in 2000 it has received national acclaim for its ability to present a new turn on southern fare.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Accommodating for my food allergies”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

My husband and had our very first date at this restaurant and we continue to go on special occasions. Each time my husband makes a reservation he makes my allergies known, and when we arrive our waiter is ready with suggestions on the menu that would suit, or can be altered to accommodate my food allergies. The service is always "spot on", with nothing lacking. With that being said, the food is heavenly. Be prepared to take your time to savor the flavor and presentation of the magnificent dishes that are served. I absolutely LOVE this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candylandhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    55
    35
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and great early bird Specials”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I always enjoy wine and food here for special events. The early entrees are great price from 5-6 PM. Wines are great and well selected. They almost always give us a window corner for our anniversaries and other special personal days.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe66Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We made dinner reservations for 7pm on Saturday night and arrived just a few minutes before 7. We were warmly greeted by the hostess who said they were running a little behind schedule - no big deal. We grabbed a seat at the bar and had a glass of wine. Lucky for us we were sitting next to one of the restaurant's regulars, Charlie, who thoroughly entertained us with stories about football, Herschel Walker and himself. What a character! Next thing you know, 30 minutes have gone by and the hostess came over to seat us. She apologized for the delay and offered us a complimentary snackie to make up for it. Pimento cheese, please! It was so good!

We had Oysters Rockefeller, pork shoulder and the crispy flounder. Every bite was fresh, delicious and cooked to perfection. The restaurant was packed, and we were happy to have an out of the way table so we didn't have to worry about being bumped into all night. We hear they're moving to a bigger space. No doubt the crowds will follow.

Parking is tricky, so be careful where you park or you might get towed!

As a side note, I have Hugh Acheson's cookbook, A New Turn in the South, and highly recommend it. (Boiled peanut hummus rocks!)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“High quality food”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Really good quality food combined with attentive service made for a very enjoyable evening. We had the charcuterie and cheese selections for starters and thankfully they tasted as good as they looked. Rabbit pappardelle on special was a particular highlight as a main. Not the cheapest place to eat out but we'll definitely be back as this is a class above most other restaurants in Athens (not that we have come across many bad ones)

Helpful?
Thank Paddington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, GA
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“great for special occasion dinner”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As others have said, the portions are moderate. But the portion size for the pork chop is generous. That dish and the catfish were delicious. The desserts, also small portions, were delicious, too. The atmosphere is very nice. We were here for spouse's birthday dinner. We were not disappointed. We do recommend for special occasions. Entrees run $25-30, desserts run about $9. Watch out for wine prices!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five & Ten also viewed

 

Been to Five & Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing