We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“always nice food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five & Ten

Five & Ten
Ranked #23 of 410 Restaurants in Athens
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: James Beard Award-winning neighborhood restaurant in Five Points. Serving dinner and Sunday brunch in a beautifully restored historic house. Five & Ten is the flagship restaurant of Chef Hugh Acheson. Since opening in 2000 it has received national acclaim for its ability to present a new turn on southern fare.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“always nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a place where you can't really go wrong with the food you order. They always whip something up which is refreshingly nice and novel. I have bee there a few times and I never disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jmayerdvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    53
    33
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Five and Ten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Definitely a must stop for foodies in Athens. Hugh Achenson is a James Beard Award winning chef that deserves all of his praise. The pork chops are amazing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Morgan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“deep south sophistication”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I recently had dinner at this Athens culinary landmark and came away completely satisfied and looking for an excuse to make the 65 mile drive from Atlanta again. The pimento cheese and crostini starter was almost as good as my grandmother used to make for the ladies missionary society meetings. The salads were not a breakout but very acceptable. The mains made the trip a success. I had the pork chops with apple sauce and sweet potato cakes and my wife had the frogmore stew. Both were far beyond good. We give 5 and 10 our highest recommendation. It is our understanding that they are planning to move to a new more upscale location. We have often found a move has a negative impact on some of our favorite places...they are never quite as good. Please, please do not let the move impact whatever you are doing right.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbdooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Had my fav St Emillion wine with dinner, Chateau Valandraud 2003 at a GREAT price.

Our server was Steven and the Wine Sommalier was another Steven. These guys are pros. The Sommolier knows his wines well! I wish the wine staff at French Laundy was this good

Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Beginning to end wonderful! Attentive and helpful waiters! Great food and peaceful environment. Would of liked more cocktail choices, but still a great dinner.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsErinAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Five & Ten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing