We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better "Dawg" food.”
Review of Last Resort Grill

Last Resort Grill
Ranked #2 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Ocala, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
247 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better "Dawg" food.”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stopped by just to visit the University area and discovered Last Resort. Short wait for a table while we enjoyed a local craft beer. The also offer an extensive wine list. For my entree I had a grilled chicken breast over a bed of creamy grits (one of my achilles heels). The entree was just great. The wife enjoyed a great salmon dish. Service was great, even though you a packed in pretty tight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    257
    72
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Piling On!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This restaurant gets raves for a good reason, it deserves them! The menu items are inventive, fresh and tasty! The service exemplary, the kitchen I'm told can be a bit slow but since one suspects that the food is prepared to order and not done hours ago and re-heated the wait if you have one is worth it! Nice wine list, available craft brews make your meal complete. Oh, but wait almost forgot the desserts, don't you forget them, they're wonderful! Drawbacks? Only one I can think of, it can get a bit loud and oh yeah, the parking lot!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This restaurant was rated #1 in Athens and there's a reason why. The food was outstanding! I ordered the beef short ribs which were tender and flavorful. They were topped with red pepper relish which was the perfect complement. My parents ordered the Last Resort's Praline
which was a chicken breast stuffed with a medley of cheeses and topped with a walnut-honey drizzle. The creamy grits are delicious! The restaurant is a little loud, but a good place to go with a group.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firstteach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner. Outstanding dessert”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We are in Athens for the North Georgia UMC Annual Conference. Needed a place to eat dinner so went to my standby restaurant review Website, Trip Advisor. This place was #1, so we tried it. Service was relaxed, but so efficient! We split a "Big Plate" Praline chicken stuffed with cheese on grits with green beans. Had a side salad with a delicious Gorgonzola dressing, hot fresh bread and butter. Ate it all. Just had to have a piece of cake to share since all reviews say they are the best. Reviews are right! We shared a slice of the Mocha chocolate cake. It was one of the best cakes we have ever tasted. Not too sweet, & not too much frosting. Just right!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonsong70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
507 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Food is good but cakes are totally calorie worthy!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

I've dined here several times and found the atmosphere laid back, the service good, and the food consistently above average . It is the cakes, however, that are truly outstanding. They way too delicious for the safety of your waste line .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuckySpivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Resort Grill also viewed

 

Been to Last Resort Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing