We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good”
Review of Last Resort Grill

Last Resort Grill
Ranked #2 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have been to Last Resort many times, the most recent this week The service is always attentive, well-paced, and friendly. And the food is always very tasty and well-presented. Last meal I had crab cakes appetizer and hanger steak entree. Crab Cakes were delicious with tasty sauces -- a hot and a mild. Hanger steak was cooked just as I ordered and served with a tangy sweet sauce, all over mashed potatoes and crisp green beans.

Drawbacks are as follows -- usually a long wait for a table and a very noisy dining area.

On our most recent visit we were told the menu is going to undergo a complete overhaul. So results of that wait to be seen. But I'm betting it will still be a great place to go.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    257
    72
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the place to go for any occasion!”
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Are you wanting an amazing meal that does not cost a whole lot!!! Well this is the place for you. This place is very affordable and has nice options for all! I do think it has an OK crowd. There have only been a few times that the college crowd or snobby Athens people have made me upset, but I try to ignore them and focus on the food! :) Service is usually great.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank madhatter_wonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Haute but GREAT! The best restaurant in Athens”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Large wonderful portions, great friendly and consistently good service, an impressive wine list and mouthwatering desserts (oh the cheesecakes!), the Last Resort is a wonderfully impressive restaurant in regard to ambiance when you want to showcase Athens to your out of town guests and leave them raving. It won't drain your pocketbook either...nicely priced and a good value.

It is noisy, be prepared to shout, but do yourself a favor, request a table outside and dive into the stuffed porkchops...an incredible meal awaits you. Sip on some wine as you enjoy watching the passers by from the climate controlled courtyard.

Round out your Athens experience with Speakeasy and Flight for tapas, and Trappeze for a wonderful pub and unique pub food (<3 pork sliders!) experience, Cine for wonderful independent films watched with wine, cocktails or beer in hand, popcorn and Shokotini for lovely sushi and martinis. These round out my top five "eats" list in the city.

*fair warning on servers-Athens has cornered the market on insolent, unhurried, lazy and sometimes just plain discourtesy when it comes to servers-maybe having to do with the college town pool of talent. I, sadly, have only had consistently good service at the Last Resort, the others are definitely, hit and miss. Plan on your southern hospitality elsewhere and hopefully you will be pleasantly surprised.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank FancyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First resort”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Excellent food; the wait can be a little lengthy, but the food is worth it.

Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaDawgfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good price/fantastic food”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I always want to go to this restaurant for my BD. It is the best. Quaint and small, call ahead is best for you may have a 2 hour wait on the weekend. They do not take reservations, but you can get on a "call-ahead" list. They also have a great case of desserts. My favorite, that I've gotten for years without varying, is the Last Resort Praline. It is amazing!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyJones123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Last Resort Grill also viewed

 

Been to Last Resort Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing