We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little zoo”
Review of Bear Hollow Zoo

Bear Hollow Zoo
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our trip to this zoo. It's small, but free. My kids really enjoyed themselves and it wasn't very crowded which made navigating with three kids easy. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    61
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“A fun afternoon with kids”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Bear Hollow Zoo is a small zoo--with free admission--in Memorial Park in Athens. We love to spend an afternoon here with the grandkids. The zoo isn't too big, so you don't get worn out seeing the bald eagles, owls, bears, alligators, deer, and other animals. When you're done at the zoo you can go over to the playground and walk around the lake with the ducks swimming in it. It makes for a nice afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average zoo but great because it's free”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Nothing spectacular but is nice place to visit to get the kids outside. They enjoy watching the bears and otters.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Msmattox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Cute, free, quiet place to take kids”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Neat little place to take friends or family. They have some outdoor enclosures and some indoor education centers where the reptiles are housed. I would say it is more like a nature center than a zoo, so don't go there expecting to see a ton of animals. They do have some birds of prey and some smaller animals, and if you are lucky, they will have a reptile out in the education center you can learn about and even touch. We went during Christmas time so there were lights up and some decorations. I would highly recommend providing a donation to the center even though there is no fee to visit. I used to work at a wildlife center and I know how scarce funds can be at times. Definitely a great place to visit and learn about native wildlife. There is also a playground nearby that you can walk to.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeTravel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“For a stroll and for kids”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is not a big zoo but it is free and it is a nice little walk around and you get to see some animal activity if you go at feeding time and I think that you could even volunteer to feed some of the more laid back animals like the beavers. I walk around this mini zoo about 1/yr and always enjoy it. Make sure you pick a nice spring or fall day :)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cchamelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bear Hollow Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing