We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky little bakery/eatery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery

Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery
Ranked #3 of 11 Dessert in Athens
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funky little bakery/eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We just love this little neighborhood spot located on the Prince Ave. corridor! We typically stop in for breakfast, so I can't speak for the lunch offerings. I usually get a breakfast bagel, the Everything bagel is the best. They have veg options for the veg-heads, as well as the vegan carrot & zucchini bread which is quite tasty. My husband opted for the blueberry oat bar that was also really good. My daughter always finds herself hypnotized by the eclectic doughnut offerings with a beam of bright light shining on them in the display case. If you bring your own coffee mug you can fill it (and refill it before you leave if dining in) for $1. They recently launched Ike @ Nite, I suspect to cater to the Normal Bar crowd. They offer burgers, dogs, chili & dolla desserts every Thurs.-Sat. from 6-10pm. In fact, if you are at Normal Bar they will even bring your food to you! I had my husband run to get one of the coconut cream pies just last night. One of Athens' best local places hands down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place was highly rated so we decided to check them out. We had a couple of sandwiches, me the grilled vegi and my husband the roast beef. I would have to say they weren't bad but not great. People rave about the donuts so we bought a couple to eat later on. Like the sandwiches they were OK but not great. It's a cute place inside with a very friendly staff but not worth a rave review

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness, doughnuts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I highly, highly recommend this bakery to anyone who is feeling adventurous in the doughnut department. The two best I have had here are the chocolate iced with bacon and the strawberry iced with lucky charms. The brunch selection is good, too.

Helpful?
Thank EC098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Donuts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Ike and Jane is a local favorite, and possibly the cutest lil coffee shop in the world. Fresh made donuts every morning, plus breakfast bars, yogurt, juice, sandwiches, lunch options, cookies... On and on. LOVE this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelindaRatesThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

this place is great! great food, great coffee, great prices! I love eating here, the staff is friendly and fast and the food is always good!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boomer7573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Ike and Jane Normaltown Cafe and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing