We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From worst to first”
Review of Chef Ming

Chef Ming
Ranked #271 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“From worst to first”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

A few years ago (2011) I gave Chef Ming's a bad review because the food was, well, bad. But times change and this is now my favorite Chinese restaurant in Athens. Their prices are good and their food is incredible. Try the hot and sour soup and kung pow chicken and you will be hooked!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's OK”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I work right around the corner from this place and have gone here several times for lunch. Service is quick, prices right (for about $6 I had pepper chicken, soup, egg roll, and fried rice). The food is OK, nothing spectacular. The last visit it seemed like there was only one server, she ran crazy, but service was still good. The restaurant is in a good location. I can leave work, eat, pick up a few items at Kroger (right next store), and be back to work in a little over an hour.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Always loved this place in the past .. but last two visits were disappointing, Shrimp was overcooked and tough. Waitress was told and made no apology. I even asked if that had a new or substitute cook and was told no - but it seemed like it. My companion ordered a dish that appeared to be precooked and warmed up. Worst part was when we made note of our disappointment it was just "shrugged off" with no comment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucky1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Chef Ming where are you?”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The original owners sold out and the chinese food, while still good, is now what it once was.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chef Ming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing