We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go expecting top notch italian”

Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana
Ranked #62 of 415 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go expecting top notch italian”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

to start our experience (second time there) we walked up the stairs, indicated who we were and the host (manager?) pointed to our table- he didn't even walk us there! We ordered the bruschetta which was ok, and the cheese and meat platter. The cheese was basically grocery store calibre provolone, and the blue was too bitter. for the main dishes, our friend described their dinner as a beef-a-roni on steroids. I had the chicken with Pancetta which was very tasty and was the best dish from our table of five. It is a pricey restaurant- just don't set your expectations too high and you shouldn't be disappointed. Service was adequate.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maddog2000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great resturant in Athens”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We always enjoy going here. The food is always good with lots of specials and appetizers to choose from. The staff is attentive and the manager Brian is great. They only serve beer and wine. Try the pork cheeks if they are available. They were fantastic. Cheers!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eagle1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
787 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Foodies will love this place”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is definitely a quality eating experience. I have only been during the week and service was always good but not too fast. They are not trying to rush you. It's a quaint place with excellent salads and appetizers. Great location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2BEis2SKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Busy Saturday Night = So-so service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went here on a Saturday night after a UGA game which probably wasn't smart. We were lucky enough to get a few seats at the bar and decided to have dinner even though we couldn't get a table.
The food was delicious - we had salads (caesar and spring greens), ravioli and veal. A little heavy on the pepper for my personal taste but otherwise very flavorful.
The problem was really with service. Since the bartender was busy mixing drinks for all the waiters with tables, we waited a lot for refills, drinks, wine etc.
I would go back with a reservation any time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SC_Dawg1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little disappointed on my last visit”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food is always fresh and the wait staff aims to please. However, this restaurant is better visited on a week day evening. It is extremely crowded on a weekend and the kitchen staff seems to get overwhelmed and the food quality seems to suffer. I do like the ceasar salad. You definitely need a reservation since the place is quite small

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing