We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was not impressed”

Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana
Ranked #60 of 413 Restaurants in Athens
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I visited La Dolce Vita on a date night a couple of months ago. We were not impressed by the food at all. My wife's chicken was average. My ravioli was chewy and I could not finish the entree. I think there are many better restaurants in Athens for the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sharpsburg GA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Italian food doesn't get better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We thought we were in Italy at the first bite. Homemade mozzarella, white sardines, capers and a balsamic reduction was our first course. We shared it and had enough to share with a friend. It was divine. I had pasta; my husband had lasagna.
Frankly, I wanted to lick my plate when I finished. My pasta serving was large and I still wanted more. A case of my taste buds being bigger than my stomach, for sure. My husband liked the lasagna but thought the sauce was too sweet for his taste. He loved my pasta! The Caesar salad was good but nothing to excite. I'd order two starters rather than the salad. The gelato is homemade. It was good, but my friends lemon sorbet, also homemade, was better. The tiramisu was the best I've ever had. Unfortunately, I husband ordered it and was loathe to give me more than a few bites. I don't blame him! The service was excellent. The employees friendly. The noise level is pretty high. That got troublesome for conversation. And I was disappointed that they did not have more Italian wines. But I would go back over and over again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peerke_and_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, Authentic Italian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Can't say enough! I would eat there everyday if I could! The Italian guys that own it make food like I haven't had since I stayed in Italy! Excellent service, nice atmosphere, and the food! Oh the food!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, Great service in downtown Athens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Went there with family that included 2 young children. They tried to be family friendly but the place is more for grownups for sure. The food was very good and the wait staff was responsive and pleasant. Most recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe_b_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great meal, fine service! We found this to be our best meal in Athens. My husband loved the pesto gnocchi. I had the special, pappardelle with duck ragu - fabulous!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fernbachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Dolce Vita Trattoria Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing