We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious comfort food”
Review of Dawg Gone Good BBQ

Dawg Gone Good BBQ
Ranked #19 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Serious comfort food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Terrific, super-hot food, served to order with a smile and a song... BBQ pork, chicken, Mac and cheese, spinach... All of these are great. There's not a lot of atmosphere, but you can sit outside. It's all about the food. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smilesdaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pekin, Illinois
Level Contributor
119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great folks, good bbq, Fantastic price”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stopped in here solo for lunch. It's comfortable establishment without all of the frills. The 'frills' are the folks who own and run the place--who genuinely care about their guests and seem to enjoy and have pride in their place.

Chef B actually took my order and stopped by to make sure I was doing well. I had the pulled pork sandwich. It was good! Meat was smoky and the sauce was decent (though not as much of a variety as I had hoped). Not the best pulled pork I've had--but better than the average! For sides I had the mac 'n cheese and the coleslaw. The mac 'n cheese was good and creamy. The coleslaw looked great and had lots of good things in it, but was a bit blander and less creamy than I'm used to--but that is probably just a personal preference.

The price for what you get is out of this world!!! I couldn't believe it. Came out paying what I'd pay at a fast food place--but of course much better and much more enjoyable!

I'll definitely head here again (B gave me a punch card) next time I'm in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ga.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This really was Dawg Gone Good BBQ!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I were en route to the National to get goat cheese with lavender and honey, when we smelled the aroma of barbecue wafting our way. At that point, we detoured to DGGBBQ, where you can taste before you buy. We tasted, we bought! Tamika, Chef B J's sister, served us squash casserole (oh my goodness) and spinach supreme (oh my goodness again) with our sandwich. We ate outside, always my first choice, and truly enjoyed our experience, especially when Chef B J walked up and we got to converse with him, and have my picture made with him and his sister.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Downtown Athens”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Some of the best BBQ I have ever had. We had ribs and pork and both were great. Later we were able to sample the giant wings and sausage. Also with great side and friendly service it is a great choice for Athens.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bowenb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good BBQ & sides”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The BBQ ribs were very good and the Mac&Cheese was tasty. This is not fine linen cloth dining, it is a small place with friendly staff & tasty food ! We were served quickly, so it is good for a fast-on the go - meal. Comfortable outdoor area. We will visit agin when in Athens ! The prices are most reasonable too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jameshtybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawg Gone Good BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dawg Gone Good BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing