We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't forget the cupcakes.”

Viva - Argentine Cuisine
Ranked #31 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Argentinean
Restaurant details
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't forget the cupcakes.”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We had never been and went there due to its proximity to a friends house. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of homemade empenadas and cupcakes. We were there for lunch and for $9 you could get two empenadas a side and a drink. Each empenada had a corresponding sauce. And oh the cupcakes. That day they had 10 mini cupcakes to choose from each with a filling inside. Interior is nothing excitting but the staff was friendly and the food came quickly. They have different specials daily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bang for your buck & a happy belly”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

First time visiting Viva today for lunch & I ordered the Argentine Cheesesteak sandwich. It comes with grilled sirloin, chimichurri sauce, carmelized onions & cheese. You can sub the beef for chicken or for the veg heads you can order it veggie style with sauteed mushrooms & spinach. The taste was amazing & you can't beat the price. If you leave this establishment without trying one of Gaby's famous cupcakes you are really missing out! I read an article in the local paper & this restaurant tied first place for best meat and ranked #1 for those fabulous cupcakes in the Taste of Athens event. This sparked my interest & today I made the trek across town to see what all the fuss is about. I'm having a hard time reading the negative reviews & feel you owe it to yourself to give it a shot. The best part of all are the owners & staff, they really make you feel at home while you're there. Viva, I WILL be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little find”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The empanadas are yummy and the mashed potatoes with cheese sauce that normally comes with shepherds pie are delicious!

Helpful?
Thank kimieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food in very casual setting”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I have eaten here now a few times and find they have consistently excellent food - perfectly cooked beef medallions, good salads, excellent mashed potatoes and the cupcakes! You MUST get the cupcakes! There is very little atmosphere, but the service is good, prices are right and the food is terrific!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dishes = mediocre. Value = poor.”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I've been here twice and both times it's been disappointing. There is a dish, which is just a small pile of french fries with some steak and salsaesque stuff on top that is pretty good. The Argentine shephard's pie is basically a pile of mashed potatoes - it sucks. The serving sizes are very small and they will run you about $8, which is too much. Especially considering the food isn't that good to begin with. I didn't believe the other reviews that say the same thing that I am writing right now, but go there and you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zuellander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viva - Argentine Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Viva - Argentine Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing