We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor food, French imposter”
Review of Etienne Brasserie - CLOSED

Etienne Brasserie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food, French imposter”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had not one, but three bad experiences at this overpriced restaurant which does not have a clue about French cooking. To even use a french name is a joke. My wife and I met friends there for dinner. We both had thier roasted chicken. Both dishes were so tough we could not eat them. Do not waste your time or money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DonSmith30606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food, nice place”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

An interesting French influenced menu. I had Steak frites and had no complaints, a generous portion size and perfectly cooked. Service was friendly and efficient and there was a nice atmosphere although tables are perhaps a little to close to each other than would be ideal. Not cheap but reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Paddington B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“So-so”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I have eaten here before and liked it. But we were disappointed with our last visit. Her meal (buckwheat crepe with duck) was way too salty and had very little duck in it. I had pork loin -- I can cook it better at home. It wasn't bad but not at all inspired.

We had a coupon for $25 off. If I had paid full price, I would have been severely disappointed with the meal instead of just disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 58DavidAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colbert, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“On the fence...”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We LOVE French cuisine, and this restaurant serves classic French food. Presentation was beautiful. Good selection without being overwhelming. Service was good. Atmosphere was typical (eclectic/ exposed brick, etc) for Broad Street, Athens area. -BUT- Dinner for two, with one glass of wine each, and a single dessert that we split was $100.00. This is okay if everything is perfect, but it wasn't. Both dinners were lukewarm. A guest at the next table sent back a soup because it wasn't hot. I had a filet mignon that was generous, but had a huge chunk of gristle at end rendering it inedible. The guest on the other side of us had the same problem. Our dessert was served in a chipped glass cup (quite a large jagged and sharp chip). We didn't notice at first, as whipped cream covered the chip.
Nothing was so serious as to cause us to regret trying this restaurant. But the multiple misses combined with the high price will probably prevent us from trying it again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank weji13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“wonderful... proper food!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

very enjoyable meals on two separate visits this month. great, unobtrusive service from staff who knew the food and wine, and some great blues in the background. the dishes are nicely prepared and presented, not strict French with lovely use of local produce combinations... and sensible portions!

Helpful?
Thank alejeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Etienne Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing