We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hoyt House at Foundry Inn and Spa, Athens, GA” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hoyt House Restaurant - CLOSED

The Hoyt House Restaurant
Cuisines: American, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hoyt House at Foundry Inn and Spa, Athens, GA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

It was awesome. I got free room service for breakfast the first morning and the lady who delivered it was so nice and polite. The second morning I went down to eat in the restaurant and it was even better. The service and staff were very professional and attendant to detail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    2
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short of help?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Foundry Park Inn and Spa and decided to have breakfast at the Hoyt House on Saturday morning. We walked in and stood in the foyer for about 10 minutes until someone said "someone will be right with you" we waited another 2 or 3 minutes and were seated. The server took our drink order - unsweetened tea for me and coffee for my husband - we sat there a good 15 minutes before the server came back and said "we will have to brew you some tea." At this point we got up to leave, the server apologized to us and said they were very short staffed. This was Valentine's Day Weekend!!!!! Short staffing should not happen. I had just seen the Chef walking toward the Foundry Park office. I was very disappointed as I had spent quite a while reading the menu and was excited to try their food. If we ever go back to Athens, Georgia, I'm sure we will stay with Foundry Park Inn and Spa again and I will give the Hoyt House another chance, but two is all they will get from me!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prettylady1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundryPark, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoyt House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Good Afternoon, prettylady1205

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your recent experience at The Hoyt House.

We pride ourselves in having friendly, well-trained, experienced, and attentive staff. It truly saddens us that we have failed you in this regard.

Additional servers have already been hired and the current servers are receiving further training.

We would like to invite you back to dine at The Hoyt House so that we may provide you with excellent customer service that we are known for.

In our never relenting efforts to better ourselves as a restaurant, guest feedback is a crucial, invaluable, and vital resource.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Tom Allgood
Front Desk and Guest Services Manager
Foundry Park Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice waitress, but the cook needs a little practice!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had breakfast here during our stay at the Foundry Park Inn and thought the waitress, Annise, delightful, but the cook couldn't seem to get the food right. The waffles weren't quite done, even on the second try, and the omelette had the onions my husband asked be omitted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Savannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoundryPark, Guest Relations Manager at The Hoyt House Restaurant, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Good Afternoon, Karen_Savannah

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Hoyt House.

Your compliments have been passed on to Anise and our Executive Chef has addressed the issues you mentioned with the culinary staff.

As 4 time winners of the "Taste of Athens" Award, we pride ourselves in providing beautiful, delicious, and unique cuisine at competitive prices. It truly pains us that we have failed you in this regard.

We would like to invite you and your husband back to The Hoyt House so that we may have the opportunity to provide the excellence service and exquisite cuisine that some many of our loyal guests have come to adore and expect from us.

Thank you, again and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Tom Allgood
Front Desk and Guest Services Manager
The Hoyt House at the Foundry Park Inn and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food in historic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hoyt House presented a wonderful menu with affordable side items. The bisquits and oatmeal were a real treat. Service was quick and friendly. Highly recommend!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CFAMeeting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“southern hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the ultimate southern dining experience. This is what you think of from Gone with the Wind. I had a delicious salmon omelette and cheese grits. They also have Yankee favorites like lox.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pilotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hoyt House Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing