We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted something different.”

George's Low Country Table
Ranked #10 of 414 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Hull, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanted something different.”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It was my birthday and I wanted something new and different. A place that I haven't been to before,I'm so glad I choose George's it was so very good!!!! If you get the chance to go you must try and go. I had the low country boil it was the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda1234547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    73
    18
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens GA
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Excellent staff and good food!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We frequent George's because the food is terrific and the staff are always welcoming. Mainstays are: fried shrimp, includes potatoes and a corn-tomato side dish; crawfish Étouffée, with rice; excellent crab cakes; and redfish (or similar) with Étouffée topping. All are accompanied by cheese biscuits and a nice side salad. For excellent cuisine, the prices are very reasonable. We particularly like George's for special occasions.

Jermaine is a special waiter and we are always happy when he greets us and comes to our table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AthensBulldawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fair”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went to George's with friends. I ordered the gumbo while my wife ordered the scallops. The gumbo was more tomatoey than i have had elsewhere (my standard for gumbo is from New Orleans and I make my own gumbo at home, so my standards may be too high). The six scallops were served on a bed of grits. These were large scallops (ocean?) and seemed a bit over cooked (a bit chewy and not as sweet). Maybe my experience diving for scallops in Florida has set my expectations rather lofty.

Some of our friends ordered the crawfish étouffée and said it was very good.

Overall our food was good, but seemed a bit expensive for what was served ( six scallops were $20).
I would return if my friends insisted we eat there, but it would not be my first choice for dining in Athens. Server was great and the outdoor live music added ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Picky_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

While touring with a bus group, our leader had chosen this restaurant for our evening meal. We were seated on the shady patio on a blissful, pleasant evening. The food was outstanding as was the service. Everyone complimented their choice in food. I wish we lived closer to the area so we could visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schreckg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great piece of New Orleans”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one of our favorite eateries in Athens. The food is a good piece of Cajun . The service and atmosphere are friendly. I particularly enjoy the redfish with étouffée . The wine special sometimes unearths a find.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimickinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Low Country Table also viewed

 

Been to George's Low Country Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing